The Terrifying Tasha Monster: August 2011

Monday, August 29, 2011

He's Not That Into You??????


 Okay, so I don’t know about you all out there but I’m horrible at reading signals. When I say signals, I’m sure you, my lovely readers know what I mean. The signals that let you know if the guy or girl you’ve been eyeing are also eyeing you! Well, I can say with all honesty, I am the worst signal reader of all time. I often mistake kindness for something else entirely and so if I find the male to be interesting, I’ll take this little slither of hope that I think he’s given me and run with it. Suddenly, he’s my best friend, I like to see him smile and I want to make him happy, I’m the one there when he’s having issues and needs an ear to listen. However, eventually, my fantasy must stop and reality makes sure that it comes to an abrupt halt. Before, I know it he’s telling some else his problems, he has a new best friend and he smiles at another girl’s jokes. And I am left feeling worst than a sumo wrestler stuck on a tiny toliet with constipationfrom eating too much rice and meat buns. And then the worst moment of all is when I talk to my friends about my dilemna. I lay my heart and soul out to them, asking them why he doesn’t like me and why he choose her over me after all we’ve been through. They simply look at me and say, ” He’s just not that into you,” or ” He’s not into you like that.” My world slowly crumbles and I’m left feeling dumber than ever. These six words should never be allowed to come together in a sentence.
 I begin wondering why exactly he’s not into me? I mean my friends told me he wasn’t but they never  ( as usual) give an explanation as to why he’s not that into me? Is it my hair? Does he prefer it long? My body? Is there just a bit too much junk in the trunk for him? My breath, maybe?? I mean I do love garlic…….In the end I’m left with no answers and just continue to feel crappy about myself. And now as I type this text I’m wondering three things: Should I find new friends? Should I stop being such a hopeless romantic and let them doing the chasing instead of the other way around? And lastly, why isn’t he that into me??????? Some questions will never be answered.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Classes Tomorrow..................?


Okay, so it’s official, I am now a Juniata freshman. Yay, class of 2015! And a feeling stranger than that of being a college freshman is that classes start tomorrow! lol I know it seems like it came so fast. Welll, in this blog I just want to update you guys who aren’t in college. I want to give you guys a heads up so you’ll know what to expect and won’t be blind sided kind of like me. lol Okay so here we go!
1) High School never ends……….
This statement is false. The atmosphere in college and high school are different. People are more serious and more mature. They can goof off but they know that there is always that big monster ( you know their academic grades) hovering over them. Those who are on scholarship are especially wary of this monster. However, I will admit there are of course the occasional dbag who will cross ya path, there are still social clicks but the bond is less strong. Something may never change but your life will when you go to college.
2) College food is better…………………..
I don’t know about you all but compared to my high school, college food is heaven sent! lol Is it perfect? No. Do you always want to eat it? Probably not. Can it get a little dull? Hell yeah! Still, though most colleges try to make healthy food with organic ingredients so that their students can stay healthy and fit. They even provide a gym for work out. However, it can be hard to feed hundreds of kids and still have the energy to come up with new recipies, so the menu may become a bit repetitive but give the cafe people a break. Hey at least we’re not eating those nasty frozen Toni Pizzas that have cheese that look like glue! :)
3) College is a big party……………..
 If you think this is true please do me a favor and go look in the mirror at yourself. What do you see? A future cheer captain? A doctor maybe? Well, all I can see is an idiot! This statement is no where near to true. Do colleges have parties? yes. Are they all the time? No, because when would people find time to study? Look just like everything in life college is what you make of it. If you decide to make it a big party thats up to you, if you decide to actually use the resources your school offers to succeed thats also up to you. Just know that the kids who treat college as a big party and don’t look at it for what it really is, usually don’t last long. You’ll see them one year and the next year…POOF! They’re magically gone like a rabbit in a magic show. Catch my drift, here? 
 So, guys its time for me to leave you all again. Sorry it took a while to write this post, I have been super busy since I’m starting college. I f anyone has naythinbg they think I should add to this little mini list or take off send me a message or a comment and lets talk about it. Expect a post next week! See ya!

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes


 Hey, my readers! So I k ow that I said I would post a review of this movie yesterday but I got a little side tracked….sorry. Anyway, I’m here now, ready and willing so just read on. Okay, so lets start with a simple summary of the plot. A scientist is testing a drug that could possibly be the cure for alzhiemers disease. As usual the drug is being tested on animals before it is distributed to the human population. The animal of choice was ,you guessed it, apes. The only problem is that the drug has a different effect on apes than it does on humans. With humans the drug at first reverses the effects of the disease but slowly it makes the patient sicker than he/ she was before being medicated and eventually, the body recognizes the drug as a foriegn virus and attacks it. This all leads up to a tragic death. With apes , the drug just continously makes them smarter. Anyway, the scientist is told to pull the plug on the drug and all the testes apes are ordered to be killed. However, one ape gives birth before she is put down. The scientist reluctantly takes the little chimp home as a pet, at first unaware that the effects of the drug were passed down from mother to child genetically. The chimp is named Ceaser and after years of living in the human world, Ceaser begins to realize that he is different and after attack a very hostile neighbor is placed in a Ape “Sanctuary.” Notice the quotationmarks because in this so called ” Sanctuary” , Ceasar is abused and finally realizes the cruelty of the human world. And so, as corny as this may sound, he gathers his ape brothers and sisters, escapes from their prison and take over the world. Simple as that.  The scientist tries to stop him, but Ceasar lets him know that it is time for him to go out on his own and that he is not human and therefore must be with his own kind. Now don’t go getting mad at the the apes guys, go see the movie before you make any sudden judgments or assumptions.
 Okay,so first the acting in the movie! The acting was great. I am especially impressed by John Lithgow who played Charles Rodman, the scientist’s ( Will Rodman played by James Franco) Father is an ex music teacher suffering from Alzhiemers Disease. Seeing him live the everyday life of someone with the disease was very interesting and emotional in my opinion. There were days that he would look at his son with distant eyes and couldn’t remember who he was. In the beginning of the movie when he is attempting to play a song on the pianothat he just can’t seem to remember is heart breaking, I believe that he truly did portray the struggles and pains of a person living with this disease. Though, his character may not have been a major one, he did stand out and have an important role in the development of the story. The other actors were exceptional as well. I do want to give some credit to the man who did the movements for Ceasar in the movie. So cheers to Any Serkins! You may not have actually been seen in the movie but you played a major part none the less. Most of Ceasars parts were not spoken, he was a chimp so he didn’t talk of course. ( or did he???) Acting as Ceasar was all about the body language and Andy Serkins pulled it off extremely well. You could read with out having to hear it, what the chimp was feeling just by a simple slouch or nod. Props to you Andy.
 Graphics were awesome. The apes looked amazingly real. Story line was good too, it really explained a lot about the first movie ” Planet of the Apes” and gave it a good back ground. For any of you who have seen the movie, you know that after watching you wonder what happened to lead up to that point, this prequel gives you the answer. For those of you who haven’t seen the movie go see it! And then go see this prequel, too! Overall, I really liked this movie. It is definitely one for the record books. On a scale of 1-10, i give it a 9. I love this movie and it was so entertaining. I suggest you all go see it!

Saturday, August 6, 2011

A Review of "Crazy Stupid Love"


 Hey guys! I know it’s been a few days since I lasted updated this blog but I’m here now with a review of a movie that I’m sure you all have heard a lot about! Okay so last Saturday, I watched the movie ” Crazy Stupid Love” with Steve Carrell. Here’s a basic summary of the movie. It centers around three relationships. The first between Steve Carrel ( Cal) and his wife (Emily) who is played by Julianne Moore. Steve Carrell and his wife get a divorce because she’s slept with another man and she’s feels as though their marriage has lost its ” spark.” While at the same time a notorious one night stand man strangely becomes infatuated by a innocent sweet girl at a club, someone who is the complete opposite of him. Finally, Steve Carrell’s son in the movie, Robbie who is played by Jonah Bobo voices his feelings of love for his baby sitter, Jessica, played by Analeigh Tipton. These three stories circle around one another coming to a surprising twist and ending.
  Now, I’ll admit there are a few cliches that those of you who are hard core critics may frown upon. For instance, in every romantic comedy with a middle aged couple isn’t the reason for divorce always because of the lost of a ” spark.” And what about the whole hot stud just can’t keep his eyes off sugar spice and every thing nice chick? The guy who sleeps with everything female just has to fall for the one girl who is sweeter than sugar that “strangely” seems different than any girl he’s ever met before? And the teen boy developing a crush on his baby sitter? Do I really have to say more? As I said, for some these cliches would just bring the movie down, while for others the traditional cliches are what make the movie cute and familiar.
  When it comes to humor, I give the movie a 3 on a 0-5 scale. It was definitely funny but the jokes seemed kind of restrained and were just ” haha” funny not hold ya gut and roll on the floor funny. Perhaps something more grungy in a movie that appeared to be so sweet and innocent would have been more satisfying. The humor was more of a silly sweet type than anything. I hope that makes sense to you all. 
The acting was good and Steve Carell was definitely a ball of laughs as he always is. The story was good though cliche ( this is not the first 3 love stories wrapped into one movie that has been made lately). It has surprise ending that will leave the audience rolling on the floor. The boy who plays Robbie I could see in future movies. He provided a lot of the laughter in the movie as well with his blunt humor.  In conclusion I give this movie, on a scale of 1-10, a 7! I hope you all go watch it and can get back to me with any comments.