The Terrifying Tasha Monster: America: A Coffee Loving Place

Friday, December 30, 2011

America: A Coffee Loving Place

Hello, all my readers!!! New Years is almost here! Yay! Like most college kids right now I’m on winter break. Since I’ve come back home for break I have been spending a lot of time with my old high school friends. And since then I’ve been drinking more coffee than I ever have before. It’s gotten to the point where every morning I wake up, the first thing that comes to mind is a hot steaming creamy cup of coffee. And sometimes its not just in the morning; I’ll get a craving randomly in the afternoon or evening as well. Now, I’m sure all of you have heard of people being addicted to coffee. Some people say you can be, others say you can’t be, its all really based on opinion. However, one thing I’m sure we can all come to a agreement on is this: addicted or not, people love their coffee. Especially Americans. Here’s my question: Just what is it about this steamy brew that makes people go bonkers? I mean honestly if you ask me, coffee doesn’t taste that good, especially without any sugar or cream (props to the people who have the guts to take it black). I remember being younger and watching my grandparents chug it down. I was curious so when they left the room I took a sip from one of their cups. The first thought that came to my mind, “What the hell?! What type of crap is this? Yuck!” And yet I took another sip. And then another. And then another. Before I knew it the mug was empty, I had a strange craving for more and I was jumping off the walls. See I didn’t really like the way it tasted but I still wanted to drink it. Why? Smoker know cigarettes are bad for them yet they still smoke it because of the nicotine. Coffee’s nicotine if caffeine.
Coffee is bitter and leaves this strange after taste in your mouth (instant coffeeis even worst) that you just can’t seem to get rid of no matter how much you smack your lips. In middle school and high school, I was more of a tea drinker myself. Tea didn’t have such a strong taste and I felt like it had more variety in terms of taste. However, I still felt like I had to drink coffee. And the closer college got the more I thought, ” Hey, I’m basically a  college student now, aren’t I suppose to want coffee?” The answer to my question is no. Despite the image many people may have of college kids, all of us don’t drink coffee. I mean don’t get me wrong, a lot of us chug it down like its coming straight from the fountain of youth, but there is a minority that prefer plain old water or some other beverage. I really think most people develop their coffee addiction while in college. I mean the media shows college kids drinking coffee so when you finally get to college that’s what you think your suppose to be doing too. Not to mention like me most people see their parent’s drinking it and since we want to be considered one of the “big kids” or an adult we start to drink it as well. Its like we’re programmed from our childhood years to grow up to be coffee drinkers because nothing is as good as that quick buzz it gives. Geeze, it’s like another form of crack.
Trust me though, Americans aren’t the only ones with this problem. I’m pretty sure Italians are hopped up on the good stuff as well. Maybe some people’s new year’s resolution should be to try to break their coffee habit. That’ll prbably be one of mine. Anyway, my readers, please tell me what you think about this post. Do you think America is addicted to coffee? Are you an addict yourself? Let me know’cause I don’t judge. This is a supporting environment. lol Well, until next time!

No comments: