The Terrifying Tasha Monster: Yes, I'm An American, But Don't Try and Scam Me

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Yes, I'm An American, But Don't Try and Scam Me

Hello, readers! So, you just started reading this post but you're probably already wondering why there is an image of a jar of peanut butter next to the text. Well, here's the reason...

Right now the exchange rate of the dollar to the rupee sucks. Currently, one US dollar is the equivalent of a little over sixty eight rupees. When I first arrived in June it was around fifty two rupees so in these few months there has been a drastic change.  Of course, this doesn't effect me the way it does my Indian friends since my currency is in dollars and I have to exchange the money to get rupees. Many people here have already said to me, "Well, I guess that's good for you, then." Honestly, in a way it is, but that doesn't mean I enjoy seeing my friends stress over the economy or (and this connects to the title) that I have the right to be cheated.



So, if you've read any of my other post, you'll know that I am not that fond of most Indian food (at least the stuff they serve in the hostel and canteen). Sometimes when I can't bare it anymore and I'm craving something that reminds me of home, I'll just go out and buy a few groceries. On one particular day I wanted peanut butter, an American reminder of my childhood. I stopped at a local bakery to purchase said peanut butter. Now I had been to this bakery before so I was sure they would charge me properly. However, when I entered the bakery there was a different employee at the counter. I asked for the pb and he said, "250." I paused. "Last time it was 200," I said. He starred at me for a minute, smiled, then looked at the label. "Oh, yeah! You're right. Sorry. I forgot." I nodded, paid and left. What he actually planned to do, I believe, was pocket that fifty for himself.

Perhaps because I'm in his country he didn't think I would have the guts to stand up to him. Maybe because I'm a woman or could it be that he figured, "She's American. She can afford it." Let's look at the last excuse...er...uh.. I mean reason. Now, honestly, would that extra fifty rupees have hurt me? No, that's less than a dollar for me so no big deal. However, its something about people thinking they can get over on me that really irritates me and makes me just want to show them who the real fool is. Especially when they feel they are justified in doing so simply because of a factor I can't control e.g. my nationality. If I see someone begging on the street I have no issue giving them money because its more likely they are being honest about their situation (or at least pretending to be honest) than some self righteous store clerk who may just be greedy.I guess what I'm trying to say is that it's the principle of the matter.

However, I would like to know what you all think. If you were in my situation what would you have done? Do you think I'm right in my reasoning for not allowing him to get over on me? If not, why?

No comments: