The Terrifying Tasha Monster: April 2010

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

A Walk In Thier Shoes........

A walk in their shoes would be a long walk indeed. It would be full of danger, hardships, pain, tears and  most of the time even blood. Who are they? They are the poverty stricken children of foreign nations. They are the child brides of poor countries. They are slaves of these countries. They are those with no voices....
It was a usual day. Wake up, school, friends,teachers, etc, etc and etc. It was nothing interesting about my day until I opened my email. I am a member of the CARE organization (if you don't know who we are look us up or message me) and support the organization in any way I can. Today in my email I received a letter from CARE telling me that recently a young Yemeni girl had been killed for internal bleeding after performing the expected sex after being married toa twenty three year old. The girl was only twelve. The thing that really stabbed me was the fact that this isn't an unusual occurrence. Dare I say that it could even be expected. Statistics show that every day there 25,000 new child brides and every year 6 million, I believe. Some girl are married as young as five! What do they know about being married? They hardly know what marriage  really is? Things like this are outrageous! If girls are not married they sometimes go to sex trafficking rings for money. In other countries females just aren't as valued as men and its wrong!
In Africa, every day kids lose their parents (not one but both) to AIDS and/or HIV. These kids are left to fend for themselves and a lot of them don't make it. For those that do make it, their standard of living is below metiocore! They struggle and scramble every day just to make ends meat. Sometimes these orphans are taken in by kind hearted shelters or schools, but what about the kds that aren't ever found? What about those kids that aren't take in? What happens to them? Boys grow up with no positive male figure in their lives, lose their education,lose their dreams, turn to a life of crime....its like running along a path to find  at the end  a huge brick wall. A dead end in life. And things like this are happening everyday. I'm not tying to preach because I'm not a pastor and I'm no angel, I'm just trying to inform the world of whats going on in the world. Anybody can help. Join an organization (it doesn't have to be CARE anyone will do!), donate,protest, start your own organization, write to your stare senators, anything to get this information out to the public.

Sunday, April 18, 2010

Pains in the body......

Pains in the body...that's what my family is. They are pains in the body. Recently it has been discovered that my cousin in pregnant. She's seventeen, involved with a, as suburban moms call them, "a bad boy". I call them thugs, gangsters, uh....criminals, duh! No point of is  sugar coding it people! He's eighteen, been shot four times, a woman abuser,a....well, do I really need to say more. How about I just say he's the stereotype of a black male teenager? How about I just say that? If I just say that I'm sure everyone will have their own mental lists of what type of person my cousin's " baby daddy" is. Anyway, ever since it's been discovered that she's pregnant she has been the main focus of my family's conversation. I woke up this morning to hear them talk about her, I ate lunch hearing them talk about her, I ate dinner hearing them talk about her and I'm sure as the sky is blue that I'm going to go to sleep hearing them talk about her. It's killing me. It's seriously killing me to keep hear them repeat her name. This is what I have to say to them: Look, the bitch is pregnant. The bitch is pregnant and theres nothing we can do about it. It's too late the baby is already in her stomach, she can't get an abortion ( too far gone) so she's got to suffer. Now can we please move on to the new gossip of the day? How about we talk about how shallow Paris Hilton is? Or how about how much weight Aretha Franklin has gained? Anything besides my cousin's pregnancy. I'm seventeen, living with two other generations of people, living with a pregnant cousin, living with a cigarette addicted male cousin (who happens to be kicked out of his house because his baby mama found out he has another baby), and surviving off of potatoes ( I'm a vegetarian and my family are major meat eaters and don't but a great variety of vegetables)...what am I suppose to do? Oh, I know. I'm gonna go in the bathroom and take some happy pills. Oh, wait we're out of those. I'm screwed.........

Saturday, April 17, 2010

I just saw Avatar.......

I just saw the billion dollar gathering movie Avatar for the first time. To describe it in one word....transforming. The graphics and special effects were excellent. Every part of the movie looked amazingly real, from the floating mountains to the native Na 'vi. I do agree with some when they say that the plot was simple, it reminded me, to a certain extent, of Pocahantos just taken to another level. However, what that old saying about there is no original idea? Something along those lines. If a critics only defense against Avatar is that the plot was simple they better get something stronger than that. "There is no original idea." There is no original plot. The whole superior technology foreigners invade another primitive planet, but then a traitor rebel emerges and helps the so called savages had already been done a thousand times before Avatar came along. People could take a thousands of movies over the decades and say it had a simple plot so that attack on Avatar is trash. Well, in my opinion anyway.

I also heard some people call the movie racist. I hate to say it but I can agree on that one, though I think a better word for it wouldn't be racist but stereotypical. When one looks at Avatar and the Na'vi, their minds drift to the Native Americans whose tribes were almost completely destroyed by European settlers. Now I'm no history major or culture expert so I'm not exactly sure how Native Americans acted, but the way the Na'vi people acted in the movie seems like the all around beef eating american stereotype. They wore little to no close, hissed, had spears and well yeah... just the Native American stereotype. Still, despite all this the movie was excellent and not just so because of the special effects but just because it was an excellent film.