I also heard some people call the movie racist. I hate to say it but I can agree on that one, though I think a better word for it wouldn't be racist but stereotypical. When one looks at Avatar and the Na'vi, their minds drift to the Native Americans whose tribes were almost completely destroyed by European settlers. Now I'm no history major or culture expert so I'm not exactly sure how Native Americans acted, but the way the Na'vi people acted in the movie seems like the all around beef eating american stereotype. They wore little to no close, hissed, had spears and well yeah... just the Native American stereotype. Still, despite all this the movie was excellent and not just so because of the special effects but just because it was an excellent film.
a blog about life,the ups and downs of life,the screwed up parts of everyday life and.........some criticisms about the government,movies,books and etc.
Saturday, April 17, 2010
I just saw Avatar.......
I just saw the billion dollar gathering movie Avatar for the first time. To describe it in one word....transforming. The graphics and special effects were excellent. Every part of the movie looked amazingly real, from the floating mountains to the native Na 'vi. I do agree with some when they say that the plot was simple, it reminded me, to a certain extent, of Pocahantos just taken to another level. However, what that old saying about there is no original idea? Something along those lines. If a critics only defense against Avatar is that the plot was simple they better get something stronger than that. "There is no original idea." There is no original plot. The whole superior technology foreigners invade another primitive planet, but then a traitor rebel emerges and helps the so called savages had already been done a thousand times before Avatar came along. People could take a thousands of movies over the decades and say it had a simple plot so that attack on Avatar is trash. Well, in my opinion anyway.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment