Hello, all my dear readers! I hope you all are having great holiday times. I know its been awhile since my last post so allow me to apologize for that. Like I always say being a college kid doesn't leave room for many other activities. :( But now its break and I have time! Yay! Let's get back to the topic of this post. A few weeks ago I was watching a documentary called "Mansome." This movie was all about hair and how certain types of hair (mustaches beards, etc) can affect a man's masculinity. I know it sounds odd, but seriously, that's all the movie was about. As I watched this movie I started thinking about the "Shaving Revolution" which is this new need among people to shave themselves nearly bald. This revolution isn't gender specific either and so it affects both men and women (though I think women still have it a bit harder...).
Of course back in the day people didn't have the tools to shave so it was just a fur for all, but then came the invention of the razor. Both men and women would shave, but women were expected to be less hairless than men (same as today). Where men would just shave the hair off their faces, women would have to shave their legs, armpits and in some hairier cases their faces as well. However, in today's world shaving has been taken a step further. Now some people are going completely hairless! When I say hairless I literally mean no hair on their bodies except their eyelashes and eyebrows but with some not even that.
Body baldness has become some sign of beauty and the media( as usual) can promote this. You see these gorgeous people on tv and all the hair they have is on their head. Even men now have started to shave their arm pits , legs and straight down the middle if you know what I'm saying. How many times have you heard commercials advertising laser hair removal, a Brazilian Wax? I hear them all the time on the radio. My question is this: why is body baldness considered beautiful? Why do so many people consider hair to be gross? I'm not really sure of the answers myself.
I would like to think that there was a time when growing hair was some how admired as a sign of maturity. Isn't that when you start growing hair? When you hit puberty, the physical transition from childhood to adulthood. So why now are we trying to turn back time and become prepubescent tweens by getting rid of one of the very things that makes us men and women not boys and girls. I'm not saying we should let the hair grow whichever way. A nice trim now and again would be fine, but taking it all away just doesn't work. Maybe in today's world that's what people want. Men want women who looks like 12 year olds and women want men whose voices (cough balls cough) haven't even dropped yet. So I ask you my readers, will you shave or will you let nature run its course? Until next time!
No comments:
Post a Comment