The Terrifying Tasha Monster: India So Far

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

India So Far

Hey, everyone! So, first rule of India: INternet is hard to come by. I had expectede to update you all one day after landing, but when I found out the hostel (yes, a hostel, not a dorm) I'm staying in has no internet access, I knew my plans had changed. Honestly, the first two days I found hard. The school, specifically the living arrangements, we're not what I expected. I knew I would be living with 6-7 other girls. That's fine and dandy. I actually like my room mates. I knew the living faciilities would not be located on the campus but near it. That's fine, as well. What I was prepared for was the showering facilities. Okay, here is my rant. Criticize me as a uppity American if you will.




No hot water. At best the water is luke warm. No shower. Okay, so the stalls have a shower head but there is no water pressure so there really is no point in usiing the shower. Instead we all use buckets and cups to rinse our selves off. Not to mention that the same stall where the "shower" is located is the same stall where the toilet is located. Oh, I forgot to mention that in India toilet paper is not a necessity. To clean your bottom there is a little hose attached to the side of the toilet that you squirt yourself with. I found this out when I was on my way to India. That was a slap in the face pretty much, but you know what? Honestly, I think I could get past all of this, everything, if the showers were just cleaner! Clean bathrooms are one of my pet peeves. If a bathroom is clean who gives a crap about cold water and no water pressure. At least you are bathing in a sanitary area where mosquitoes don't fly in and try to give you malaria. Despite all of this, I don't want to dwell on the negative. I have few more things I could complain about, but studying abroad is suppose to be a good experience and I plan to make it one.



I don't think you have expereinced true culture shock until you have traveled from America to India. The two countries stand on opposite ends of the spectrum with a srtong disconnect between them. I have found during my time here many Indians aren't as aware of America (the culture that is ) as I had thought. I mean, I am not an expert in Indian culture, but I had some basic foundation to guide me and even did more research into topics I was familar with before coming here. It seems to me that a lot of the students here rely on stereotypes to guide them. First, everyone just assumed that I didn't want to try Indian food and that I wnated to binge on burgers and fries. Several people repeatedly said , "She will like fries and burgers." It took many explnations to get people to understand that (1) I came to India to experience India menaing the food as well and (2) Americans eat more than burgers and fries! I tried several times unsucessfully to explain to some of the students that America is made up of immigrants and so I eat a variety of food. Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, African American, Greek, etc. I'm not satying I don't love burgers and fries, but if that was all I ate I would be dead. This disconnection with America saddens me because it creates another cultural barrier. I hope some of the studnets from the school will visit the states so they can truly understand what America is and is not! Still, many of them are willing to listen and learn just as I am willling to learn about India from them. I feel like I am learning more every day.



The thing I like most about India, so far, is the difference in acceptable practices between people opf the same gender. Okay, get ready for mind bender here. In India mean hold hands and wrap their arms around each other's shoulders. Yeah, and the biggest thing is that it doesn't make them gay! Straight men are doing this, not gay men (even though gay marriage is legal in India. That was surprising, as well). It's nice to see guys so relaxed around each other and not having to worry about being Mr. Macho. Girls, hold hands too, but in the states, I think if guys do it, there are more issues.



Currently, it is the rainy season in the part of India I am staying. All the rain is awesome. The flowers are blooming and everything seems a live. With two of my friends, the other, we all got cauhgt in the rain, running through Indian traffic which is crazy ( worst than China). Traffic here seems like there are no rules, but the little adventure in the rain was awesome so I didn't mind. I probbaly wouldn't be saying that if I got hit, but whatever.



Just like in China, people stare at me all the time. God, do I miss just being another blak girl walking through the halls, but everyone is very helpful. Even in the air port, faimilies would temporarily adopt me and make sure I got ot my gate on time. It was obvious that I was a little lost and confused. I mean it was my first time flying solo so what can you expect? I managed, though. Anyway, I have to go. School is about over annd right now only here can I get internet access. Hopefully, that will chnage today , but only the future will be able to tell me. Thanks and talk to you later.







P.S. I did not check this for typos or grammar, so allow me to apologize in advance.

No comments: