The Terrifying Tasha Monster: The Fat People Hater

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

The Fat People Hater

Hello, readers! I'm sorry, what? Oh, yes, that is a picture of me with a super cute polar bear. Two summers ago I was in China at the Coca-Cola factory when this picture was taken.After seeing this picture (and the many more that were taken during the trip) I was not a happy camper. Explanation below. :)

 It was the summer after my freshman year and I had definitely gained the infamous freshmen fifteen. Not to mention that I had carried some extra weight from high school to college. When this picture was taken I was close to (can't believe I'm posting this on the blog) 200 pounds. How did I get there? There are many reasons, which I won't go into, but I can say this: In order to "improve" yourself, you have to first like yourself. You have to first accept yourself as you are. I wish I had known this my freshman year.It would have saved me a lot off feeling shitty time.



To wrap things up, I lost a lot of the weight. By the time my sophomore year came to an end, I was between 150 and 155 pounds. I felt good. I felt achieved. Shit, I felt hot! I had done something I never thought I could do.  But, what's that old saying? Oh, yes. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. This thought came to me recently, after my boyfriend had one of his old friends visit the apartment.

Now, this is just a relationship rule. Your special someone will always have at least one friend who you hate and probably is the biggest douche- bag in the world. In my case, let's call that friend The Fat People Hater. Since the day I met him, TFPH has always been a top rated asshole. He openly insults people, but has this way of making it seem like casual conversation. He's shallow and sexist which explains why he never has had a girlfriend. He has these "ideal" standards about women. He thinks they all should be skinny and fair skin with at least waist length hair. However, weight is his biggest issue. He seems to be disgusted by fat people since any time he gets a chance he likes to make a joke. Like many, he believes being fat is the equivalent of being lazy or negligent of your body. Perhaps, this is the case for some people with weight on them, but I don't think  it necessarily applies to the majority.

Now, don't go thinking TFPH is some kind of health nut who watches what he eats and exercises. Hello,no. The dude just got lucky with his genes. He eats processed junk food like it's fresh water from the fountain of youth. He has a fast metabolism so, he's really skinny. I guess, in his mind, that somehow makes him superior to the chubs of this world and so, he sees no reason not to insult them. He looks at them as if they're a plague or blemish in this perfectly skinny world. And when I say "them," I mean myself, as well. I'm not skinny, probably never going to be, which is okay, but TFPH has this way of secretly letting me know that I'm not up to his standards. Not that I really give a shit, because I think he's a worthless piece of crap, but it can get a little tense after awhile. I see as he watches me with his gross condescending smirks. I see the way he watches my boyfriend, as if he wants to say, "Dude, when I get a girlfriend, she is going to be skinny and so much hotter than yours."

You see, when TFPH looks at me, this is the image that comes into his mind: an elephant passing by on a stroll.

This,probably, is the the image that comes to many people's minds. However, I learned a while ago, that living by other people's standards causes a standstill in your life. And as long as you continue to live by other's standards you will never take the next step on your path of life. You will never be truly happy and so, to TFPH and to all those out there like him, this is what I see when I look in the mirror.







 And I think, it's pretty damn awesome. We all should think we're pretty dam awesome. Until next time!

Your Turn: Have you ever met a FPH? How did you deal with the situation? Did you have the urge to punch them int he face? Don't worry, I won't tell, but I want to hear from you guys. If you have any stories like this, I want o hear them!

No comments: