The Terrifying Tasha Monster: 2011

Friday, December 30, 2011

America: A Coffee Loving Place

Hello, all my readers!!! New Years is almost here! Yay! Like most college kids right now I’m on winter break. Since I’ve come back home for break I have been spending a lot of time with my old high school friends. And since then I’ve been drinking more coffee than I ever have before. It’s gotten to the point where every morning I wake up, the first thing that comes to mind is a hot steaming creamy cup of coffee. And sometimes its not just in the morning; I’ll get a craving randomly in the afternoon or evening as well. Now, I’m sure all of you have heard of people being addicted to coffee. Some people say you can be, others say you can’t be, its all really based on opinion. However, one thing I’m sure we can all come to a agreement on is this: addicted or not, people love their coffee. Especially Americans. Here’s my question: Just what is it about this steamy brew that makes people go bonkers? I mean honestly if you ask me, coffee doesn’t taste that good, especially without any sugar or cream (props to the people who have the guts to take it black). I remember being younger and watching my grandparents chug it down. I was curious so when they left the room I took a sip from one of their cups. The first thought that came to my mind, “What the hell?! What type of crap is this? Yuck!” And yet I took another sip. And then another. And then another. Before I knew it the mug was empty, I had a strange craving for more and I was jumping off the walls. See I didn’t really like the way it tasted but I still wanted to drink it. Why? Smoker know cigarettes are bad for them yet they still smoke it because of the nicotine. Coffee’s nicotine if caffeine.
Coffee is bitter and leaves this strange after taste in your mouth (instant coffeeis even worst) that you just can’t seem to get rid of no matter how much you smack your lips. In middle school and high school, I was more of a tea drinker myself. Tea didn’t have such a strong taste and I felt like it had more variety in terms of taste. However, I still felt like I had to drink coffee. And the closer college got the more I thought, ” Hey, I’m basically a  college student now, aren’t I suppose to want coffee?” The answer to my question is no. Despite the image many people may have of college kids, all of us don’t drink coffee. I mean don’t get me wrong, a lot of us chug it down like its coming straight from the fountain of youth, but there is a minority that prefer plain old water or some other beverage. I really think most people develop their coffee addiction while in college. I mean the media shows college kids drinking coffee so when you finally get to college that’s what you think your suppose to be doing too. Not to mention like me most people see their parent’s drinking it and since we want to be considered one of the “big kids” or an adult we start to drink it as well. Its like we’re programmed from our childhood years to grow up to be coffee drinkers because nothing is as good as that quick buzz it gives. Geeze, it’s like another form of crack.
Trust me though, Americans aren’t the only ones with this problem. I’m pretty sure Italians are hopped up on the good stuff as well. Maybe some people’s new year’s resolution should be to try to break their coffee habit. That’ll prbably be one of mine. Anyway, my readers, please tell me what you think about this post. Do you think America is addicted to coffee? Are you an addict yourself? Let me know’cause I don’t judge. This is a supporting environment. lol Well, until next time!

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Two Blogs, One Girl

Hey to all my readers! So as you guys probably know I have recently stopped posting on this blog due to what I thought was a lack of followers. Plain and simple, I thought no one was reading so why post? Now I know that even if no one reads my blog(s) I will always post for myself. This is why I have decided to startposting on this blog again. I'll probably need to become reaquainted with how this site works again, I guess. I have another blog on tumblr. I'll probably cross blog between the two sites sometimes, but I also may place certain posts on only one of these sites. Here's a link to my tumblr blog and please continue to read! :) I'm always up for questions so bring them on!

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Should I continue writing?

Okay, so here's the deal, I only have four follwoers on this blog. I don't even think they read it. So if no one's reading this blog and I update it every week on topics for people to read and comment bakc on then why should I keep doing it? So basically, if there is anyone out there who actually reads me and wants me to keep writing then please let me know or I might as well, delete it. I'm giving it a month.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

The Universal Cure.....Chicken Noodle Soup



Whether we had a slight cough and cold or a full out mucus filled nose, the solution to every ailment or illness, at least as far as our mothers were concerned, was chicken noodle soup. Yes, you know it’s true. Don’t deny it, we’ve all eaten it at least once, whether you actually like it or not. I personally wasn’t a big fan of this dish. My grandmother would always pop open that Campbell’s can, pour it in a pot, warm it up and serve it to me “fresh.” However, I found it just to be a it too salty for my taste, so I tried to avoid eating the broth at all costs. Now, thankfully, I think I may have found a solution to my problem. Perhaps, it wasn’t just chicken soup in general I disliked maybe it was just the people who made it! I mean who says chicken noodle soup has to be so generic? There are so many ways to make it and so many different styles……….mmmmmmmmmmmmm……….a new favorite food???? Maybe. Follow the link below and see all the yummy and different ways to make this universal cure.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

QAin't Love Grand....Uh, no its not..................

 One thing that I can say abouyt me that hasn’t changed since colege is how easily I fall. I mean really, it’s simply pathetic. A guy can give me one warm delightful smile and I’m done! Cooked like a Thanksgiving Turkey ready to serve. Of course, my readers I do not want you to think I’m like tghose movie college girls who fall in bed with anyoone, beause that’s just grossn and I don’t do that. No offense, don;’t want to judeg anyone, but that’s just how I feel. So when I say easy know that I mean I fall for a guy easily not into his bed, thank you. Anyway, yes so I fall easily and I think it is a horrible habit. The worst part of it is that its like a slow build up. First, I’ll just think about him occasionaly here and there. Than, he’ll shoot me another smile and my heart starts toflutter. Before you know it I’m sighing when he walks by…….like literally sighing. No joke. Sometimes I feel like one of those swooning women in those black in white movie who fall for the hot hero guy only to have their hearts broken in the end when he goes off to fight in the war and dies. I know…….I’m tragic. Finally, my head is so polluted with thoughts of affection and love that I become brazen in my actions. No, I don’t start stalking him or naything like that. I do little things like spend just a bit more time talking with him than anyone else, accidentally let my foot brush against his, like everyhting on his fb page…….okay maybe not the last what but the point is I start to show my affections and when he doesn’t respond back in the way I hoped ( which he never does) I’m left feeling worst than a sack of potatoes. Yeah, I feel less like a sack of potatoes and more like a sack of shit! that’s the exact description…aw my love life….is what I have even a love life though? Like really, can anyone call pathetically swooning over men a liove life? No, I don’t think they can. Well, to sum this all up, UI’ll probablky end up heart bvroken again, but despit this fact I never can stop myself from falling. Next blog I’ll update you on the exact deatils of my current situationa nd the outcome. Until then my readers, avoi!

Monday, September 5, 2011

Hich School Never Ends

So, Bowling for Soup was right! High school never ends! I like most naive fools thought that somehow college would be different than high school. People would be more mature, social clicks would be a thing of the past, everyone would get along and we’d all poop out rainbows and chocolate chip cookies right? Mmmm,how wrong I was. First people have definitely not matured by a ling shot. Guys still snicker at middle school jokes about butts and farts, most girls are still superficial and cover themselves with loads of makeup thinking it makes them look better when in actuality it makes them look like a clown did their make up after they had been in a car crash. Intense right? yeah, I know. Anyway, social clicks are still strong and pumping. recently, I made a friend who happened to be a jock. You know, we were just so good of friends when he happened to see me in the hallway and no one was around to here his cheery “Hey!”, but as soon as his cave men friends appeared suddenly I was some sort of stranger…………………so confident. So I have came to the conclusion that high school never does end, but I want to know what you guys think! Does it ever end or will it forever torment us?

Monday, August 29, 2011

He's Not That Into You??????


 Okay, so I don’t know about you all out there but I’m horrible at reading signals. When I say signals, I’m sure you, my lovely readers know what I mean. The signals that let you know if the guy or girl you’ve been eyeing are also eyeing you! Well, I can say with all honesty, I am the worst signal reader of all time. I often mistake kindness for something else entirely and so if I find the male to be interesting, I’ll take this little slither of hope that I think he’s given me and run with it. Suddenly, he’s my best friend, I like to see him smile and I want to make him happy, I’m the one there when he’s having issues and needs an ear to listen. However, eventually, my fantasy must stop and reality makes sure that it comes to an abrupt halt. Before, I know it he’s telling some else his problems, he has a new best friend and he smiles at another girl’s jokes. And I am left feeling worst than a sumo wrestler stuck on a tiny toliet with constipationfrom eating too much rice and meat buns. And then the worst moment of all is when I talk to my friends about my dilemna. I lay my heart and soul out to them, asking them why he doesn’t like me and why he choose her over me after all we’ve been through. They simply look at me and say, ” He’s just not that into you,” or ” He’s not into you like that.” My world slowly crumbles and I’m left feeling dumber than ever. These six words should never be allowed to come together in a sentence.
 I begin wondering why exactly he’s not into me? I mean my friends told me he wasn’t but they never  ( as usual) give an explanation as to why he’s not that into me? Is it my hair? Does he prefer it long? My body? Is there just a bit too much junk in the trunk for him? My breath, maybe?? I mean I do love garlic…….In the end I’m left with no answers and just continue to feel crappy about myself. And now as I type this text I’m wondering three things: Should I find new friends? Should I stop being such a hopeless romantic and let them doing the chasing instead of the other way around? And lastly, why isn’t he that into me??????? Some questions will never be answered.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Classes Tomorrow..................?


Okay, so it’s official, I am now a Juniata freshman. Yay, class of 2015! And a feeling stranger than that of being a college freshman is that classes start tomorrow! lol I know it seems like it came so fast. Welll, in this blog I just want to update you guys who aren’t in college. I want to give you guys a heads up so you’ll know what to expect and won’t be blind sided kind of like me. lol Okay so here we go!
1) High School never ends……….
This statement is false. The atmosphere in college and high school are different. People are more serious and more mature. They can goof off but they know that there is always that big monster ( you know their academic grades) hovering over them. Those who are on scholarship are especially wary of this monster. However, I will admit there are of course the occasional dbag who will cross ya path, there are still social clicks but the bond is less strong. Something may never change but your life will when you go to college.
2) College food is better…………………..
I don’t know about you all but compared to my high school, college food is heaven sent! lol Is it perfect? No. Do you always want to eat it? Probably not. Can it get a little dull? Hell yeah! Still, though most colleges try to make healthy food with organic ingredients so that their students can stay healthy and fit. They even provide a gym for work out. However, it can be hard to feed hundreds of kids and still have the energy to come up with new recipies, so the menu may become a bit repetitive but give the cafe people a break. Hey at least we’re not eating those nasty frozen Toni Pizzas that have cheese that look like glue! :)
3) College is a big party……………..
 If you think this is true please do me a favor and go look in the mirror at yourself. What do you see? A future cheer captain? A doctor maybe? Well, all I can see is an idiot! This statement is no where near to true. Do colleges have parties? yes. Are they all the time? No, because when would people find time to study? Look just like everything in life college is what you make of it. If you decide to make it a big party thats up to you, if you decide to actually use the resources your school offers to succeed thats also up to you. Just know that the kids who treat college as a big party and don’t look at it for what it really is, usually don’t last long. You’ll see them one year and the next year…POOF! They’re magically gone like a rabbit in a magic show. Catch my drift, here? 
 So, guys its time for me to leave you all again. Sorry it took a while to write this post, I have been super busy since I’m starting college. I f anyone has naythinbg they think I should add to this little mini list or take off send me a message or a comment and lets talk about it. Expect a post next week! See ya!

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes


 Hey, my readers! So I k ow that I said I would post a review of this movie yesterday but I got a little side tracked….sorry. Anyway, I’m here now, ready and willing so just read on. Okay, so lets start with a simple summary of the plot. A scientist is testing a drug that could possibly be the cure for alzhiemers disease. As usual the drug is being tested on animals before it is distributed to the human population. The animal of choice was ,you guessed it, apes. The only problem is that the drug has a different effect on apes than it does on humans. With humans the drug at first reverses the effects of the disease but slowly it makes the patient sicker than he/ she was before being medicated and eventually, the body recognizes the drug as a foriegn virus and attacks it. This all leads up to a tragic death. With apes , the drug just continously makes them smarter. Anyway, the scientist is told to pull the plug on the drug and all the testes apes are ordered to be killed. However, one ape gives birth before she is put down. The scientist reluctantly takes the little chimp home as a pet, at first unaware that the effects of the drug were passed down from mother to child genetically. The chimp is named Ceaser and after years of living in the human world, Ceaser begins to realize that he is different and after attack a very hostile neighbor is placed in a Ape “Sanctuary.” Notice the quotationmarks because in this so called ” Sanctuary” , Ceasar is abused and finally realizes the cruelty of the human world. And so, as corny as this may sound, he gathers his ape brothers and sisters, escapes from their prison and take over the world. Simple as that.  The scientist tries to stop him, but Ceasar lets him know that it is time for him to go out on his own and that he is not human and therefore must be with his own kind. Now don’t go getting mad at the the apes guys, go see the movie before you make any sudden judgments or assumptions.
 Okay,so first the acting in the movie! The acting was great. I am especially impressed by John Lithgow who played Charles Rodman, the scientist’s ( Will Rodman played by James Franco) Father is an ex music teacher suffering from Alzhiemers Disease. Seeing him live the everyday life of someone with the disease was very interesting and emotional in my opinion. There were days that he would look at his son with distant eyes and couldn’t remember who he was. In the beginning of the movie when he is attempting to play a song on the pianothat he just can’t seem to remember is heart breaking, I believe that he truly did portray the struggles and pains of a person living with this disease. Though, his character may not have been a major one, he did stand out and have an important role in the development of the story. The other actors were exceptional as well. I do want to give some credit to the man who did the movements for Ceasar in the movie. So cheers to Any Serkins! You may not have actually been seen in the movie but you played a major part none the less. Most of Ceasars parts were not spoken, he was a chimp so he didn’t talk of course. ( or did he???) Acting as Ceasar was all about the body language and Andy Serkins pulled it off extremely well. You could read with out having to hear it, what the chimp was feeling just by a simple slouch or nod. Props to you Andy.
 Graphics were awesome. The apes looked amazingly real. Story line was good too, it really explained a lot about the first movie ” Planet of the Apes” and gave it a good back ground. For any of you who have seen the movie, you know that after watching you wonder what happened to lead up to that point, this prequel gives you the answer. For those of you who haven’t seen the movie go see it! And then go see this prequel, too! Overall, I really liked this movie. It is definitely one for the record books. On a scale of 1-10, i give it a 9. I love this movie and it was so entertaining. I suggest you all go see it!

Saturday, August 6, 2011

A Review of "Crazy Stupid Love"


 Hey guys! I know it’s been a few days since I lasted updated this blog but I’m here now with a review of a movie that I’m sure you all have heard a lot about! Okay so last Saturday, I watched the movie ” Crazy Stupid Love” with Steve Carrell. Here’s a basic summary of the movie. It centers around three relationships. The first between Steve Carrel ( Cal) and his wife (Emily) who is played by Julianne Moore. Steve Carrell and his wife get a divorce because she’s slept with another man and she’s feels as though their marriage has lost its ” spark.” While at the same time a notorious one night stand man strangely becomes infatuated by a innocent sweet girl at a club, someone who is the complete opposite of him. Finally, Steve Carrell’s son in the movie, Robbie who is played by Jonah Bobo voices his feelings of love for his baby sitter, Jessica, played by Analeigh Tipton. These three stories circle around one another coming to a surprising twist and ending.
  Now, I’ll admit there are a few cliches that those of you who are hard core critics may frown upon. For instance, in every romantic comedy with a middle aged couple isn’t the reason for divorce always because of the lost of a ” spark.” And what about the whole hot stud just can’t keep his eyes off sugar spice and every thing nice chick? The guy who sleeps with everything female just has to fall for the one girl who is sweeter than sugar that “strangely” seems different than any girl he’s ever met before? And the teen boy developing a crush on his baby sitter? Do I really have to say more? As I said, for some these cliches would just bring the movie down, while for others the traditional cliches are what make the movie cute and familiar.
  When it comes to humor, I give the movie a 3 on a 0-5 scale. It was definitely funny but the jokes seemed kind of restrained and were just ” haha” funny not hold ya gut and roll on the floor funny. Perhaps something more grungy in a movie that appeared to be so sweet and innocent would have been more satisfying. The humor was more of a silly sweet type than anything. I hope that makes sense to you all. 
The acting was good and Steve Carell was definitely a ball of laughs as he always is. The story was good though cliche ( this is not the first 3 love stories wrapped into one movie that has been made lately). It has surprise ending that will leave the audience rolling on the floor. The boy who plays Robbie I could see in future movies. He provided a lot of the laughter in the movie as well with his blunt humor.  In conclusion I give this movie, on a scale of 1-10, a 7! I hope you all go watch it and can get back to me with any comments.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Demi Lavoto's New Single " Skyscraper"

 Hello, hello, my readers and pals! So as you guys already know based on the title today I am here to talk about Demi Lavoto’s new single, ” Skyscraper.” The other day I was on facebook ( of course, where else do teens spend their time lol) and I was having a pretty crummy day so one of my best friends decided to send me a link to the ” Skyscraper” video on youtube. After, watching the video I was like a new person. The bright desert scenery from the video plus Demi’s amazing voice that held enormous amounts of passionate emotion took the black cloud that was hanging above me and pushed it to the west coast!
  Demi’s new single is different than her past music. She has made the transition from a Disney Pop Princess to a true genuine emotionally echoing artist. Little Demi has grown up and there is no doubt in my mind ( thought I’m not some Demi expert or anything) that this change has to deal with the many obstacles she had to conquer through out her life. Especially, the troubles that appeared after her break up with Joe Jonas.
  Ms. Lavoto suffered from a compulsive over eating disorder at the young age of eight. This issue eventually turned into a problem with anorexia nervosa and bulemia. From there there were such issues as cutting, cocaine addiction and alcoholism. The break up with Joe Jonas only made it worst. However, now that Ms. Lavoto has over came all of these obstacles she is back and better than ever! And all you have to do is listen to this new single to erase any doubt in your mind that she isn’t. Demi, I salute you. The first 2 links below are to magazine articles talking about her struggle and the last one is her video.



Sunday, July 24, 2011

Rachel, Finn and Kurt Not Leaving Glee!

Okay my dear readers, so I’m sure all of you know that there has been recent news that Rachel, Kurt and Finn will be leaving Glee when they graduate in the upcoming season. I am proud and ecstatic to announce that this news is WRONG! There isn’t much more I can say just follow the link below:




http://cory-monteith.com/index.php/2011/07/24/comic-con-finn-rachel-and-kurt-not-leaving-glee/

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

The Twinkie Diet?????????????

Okay so correct me if I’m wrong but I thought that when one goes on a diet they start munching on carrots sticks and salads? Not twinkies! Every year Americans (especially Americans) spends thousands upon thousands of dollars on diet pills ( that always guarantee they are the only solution), protein shakes,diet books (that always guarantee they are the solution to all your weight problems) and even more weight obsessive junk!
 Usually these diets are nothing more than a simple scam, that don’t really work and may actually have the opposite effect and make you gain weight! They use models, not real people to sell their products. The types of diets vary by far from low protein no carb, high protein no carb, high carb no protein etc etc etc. It all gets very old after awhile. All the diets say that in order to lose weight and get skinny ( because skinny is the ” perfect” body right?) you’ve gotta work out 24/7, stop eating your favorite foods ( pizza, brownies,cookies yum!), make greens your primary substance and a whole load of other crap! But now there has been a break through! The twinkie diet. No salads here only twinkies twinkies twinkies lol. Maybe this diet will actually work…………. I doubt it.

Cory Monteith Talks About Filming " Glee: the Concert Movie 3D"

Hey hey to all my fellow gleeks out there! So of course by now all you should know that Aug 12th ” Glee: the Concert Movie” will be coming into theaters! Yay, I hope you all are as super excited about this movie as I am! As I stated in one of my previous posts the movie will not only show you the cast members of ” Glee” performing on stage, it will show the prep and set up for the whole thing plus behind the scene looks. Any of you guys been wondering how some of the glee members feel about the movie? Well, it’s not much but I have a video link posted below with Cory Monteith ( plays Finn on the show but all of you know that of course) and some answers about the movie coming out Aug 12th. Hope you enjoy and get back to me with any feedback!




http://cory-monteith.com/index.php/2011/07/20/cory-talks-about-filming-glee-the-3d-concert-movie/

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Another link to " Wear Suncreen: Class of '99"

http://youtu.be/iJew4fxHl1U

" Wear Sunscreen: Class of '99"

 Hey everyone! So, you guys ever had those days where you just don’t feel up to par? Where you feel like you’re lacking something in comparison to everyone else? I’m sure all of you are saying, ” Yes!” to your computer screens right now. I have never met a person who can say in all honesty that they are 100% confident all the time, especially teenagers.
 Living in a media filled world we are constantly bombarded with images and ideas of what we “should” look like or what the epitome of American beauty is ( tall, skinny, blonde, big boobed, hour glass figure, blue eyes….). Also, there is a constant pressure from parents, teachers and many adult figures to know by the time we are twelve to know what we plan to do in our lives. Like it’s really that easy to make a life lasting decision like choosing a career in the fifth grade! This video ( link is below) says its okay to not always be up to the world’s standards, its okay to not know what you’re definitely going to do and teaches a few other life lessons along the way. Whenever I’m down, I play this video. Enjoy and give me feedback on what you think.

http://youtu.be/bwVVpwBKUp0

Monday, July 18, 2011

Lost In Kotsko

Hey again! So I know I just posted a but ago but I just had to update all my social networking sights for this. So okay when Tyler Posey is not killing it acting as Scott McCaul in " Teen  Wolf" ( which he always does especially in the most recent episode) he jams out with his band " Lost In Kostko." So I just did some research on them and I can say that I really enjoy their sound! Tyler said that he was inspired by the band " Blink 182" which is a pretty popular and for all those who don't know. Anyways below is a link to the band " Lost In Kostko" on youtube. This songs is pretty good. Check it out guys and get back to me on what you think. Also, like them on facebook!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWv_jCzEASE&NR=1

An Interview With Tyler Posney from Teen Wolf!

http://www.amandaelkins.com/blog/?p=3562

Hello, to all my Teen Wolf fans! Above is a link that will guide you all to an interview with the man behind Scott  on the new show on MTV Teen Wolf. Ever wondered what Tyler's favorite food is? Well, here are the answers to your pending questions! Take a dive into a day in the life of Tyler (Scott) and see a little bit of who he is!

Sunday, January 2, 2011

My Apple Tree (Pt 14)

 I watched the trees pass by me. They were lucky. They had some ground, some foundation to rely on. But me...I had nothing. When I fell I would just fall forever and never be caught by any safety net. Thomas died. I read in the paper a few weeks later that he had been in a bad drug deal and lost his life as a result. Forty bullets. Forty holes through his body. I didn't cry though. There was no point because the boy that died was not the same one I fell in love with so many years ago. He was some horrible, dark look alike. I didn't love him so when he died I was actually a bit happy. It was good to be rid of the look alike. The sad part was that my Thomas was now lost forever and I would never find him. I cried for him, not for the look alike.

 The day after I left Thomas in the abandoned house I told my dad everything. I knew he was angry with me, even after we talked. I told him that I wasn't involved in any of Thomas' drug deals or the murder. he believed me, but I could still see this look of disappointment in his face. It was like I had gone past forgiveness. I knew I was dead to him, just a huge disappointment he shouldn't have wasted time to even find so I left early. I was on  the first train at the end of the month.

  My mother was dead, my father saw me as dead, and the man I loved was lost forever. I had spent my whole life trying to find some one to love me,begging, needing to be loved. Now I was right back to where I started, but this time I had grown. I was more mature and had lived life while at the same time learning. Everything was gone to me, but since everything was gone ( and everyone) I had learned to stand on my own two feet. I was independent now. I loved me now and though when I fell I wouldn't have anyone to catch me I would land on my two strong legs and walk on to the next challenge. The sun was setting, my eyes started getting heavy. I felt comforted by the fact that I knew when I opened my eyes again, the sun would be rising on my college and rising on my new start.