The Terrifying Tasha Monster: 2013

Saturday, December 28, 2013

What I'm Looking Forward to in 2014!

Hello, readers! Well, Christmas is done and New Year's Eve (NYE) is right around the corner. I'm already getting my NYE plans together. It will involve friends, champagne, music and food. Lots and lots of food! I hope you all are getting your plans together, too.

With NYE comes the infamous NYE resolutions. Yes, promises we make to ourselves at the end of every year to somehow be better people, to be perfect. Though we may, initially, make our NYE resolutions with the strongest determination and passions, they are soon forgotten (usually within the first few days to the first couple of months of the New Year).

Monday, December 23, 2013

A Not So Christmas-y Post


I had so many ideas for this post. I mean Christmas is right around the corner so, my heart (and tummy) should be warm with the holiday spirit, right? The only problem is that it isn't. No, actually, my head, my heart and my spirit are cold and heavy. I understand if you would rather not read this post since you all are probably in the holiday spirit and I really don't want to be a downer. However, besides writing for you all, I also, write for myself and I need an outlet right now. So, please, do not let me bring down your holiday high, but if you wish to continue reading on, then, please do.

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Ways Not To Approach A Woman #6

Hello, readers! So, we have finally reached the last post in this series. Yay! I hope you all have enjoyed my posts, so far, and found them helpful. For this last post, I thought I would do something a little different. Instead of me telling you all what I think works and doesn't work when talking to a woman (or man), I'm going to put the ball in your court. I want you guys to advice me! What tips have you tried? Which ones have worked? Which ones have failed and why? It's your job to give me way #6. :) Feel free to comment on the blog or hit me up with a comment on Facebook. I really want to hear from you guys. To get to my Facebook account you can click the image to your right or look the blog up on Facebook. Thank you all so much! :)

Monday, December 16, 2013

Ways NOT To Approach A Woman #5

Hello, readers! Can you believe Christmas is only a week (and a day depending on where you live) away? I can't!Where does the time go? And before you know it New Year's Eve will be upon us.I hope you all are ready because 2014 is coming and it's coming fast. Anyway, on to the topic of this post...   (I am not the owner of this image. All rights belong to Dove and the image can be found at this blog.)

Saturday, December 14, 2013

Ways NOT to Approach A Girl #4

Hello, readers! This is the fourth post in my little mini series "How NOT To Approach A Woman." I plan to do one or two more posts before ending series. I hope it has been helpful so far and I am sorry about not posting this sooner.
(I am not the owner of this image. This image can be traced back to the following blog for ownership.)
 I meant to post it last week, but  my mind got side tracked. Anyway, on to the topic of this post. How not to approach a woman way #4: the cock!
#4:
If your mind is in the gutter, you can pull it right out! I'm using the term cock to refer to a guy that is cocky instead of confident. Many people often get these two terms confused. Cocky and confident are not at all equivalents. Confidence is more like the base or foundation of cockiness. You see the difference between these two words is simple. Being confident means strongly believing and trusting in yourself and your actions; feelings of security with oneself. Being cocky essentially means being over confident. You trust and believe in yourself so much that in the process you put down others and become blind to your own flaws (which everyone has). Confidence is sexy and subtle. Cockiness is obnoxious and gaudy. Which one do you think women prefer? It's an easy answer.

When a cocky man approaches a woman he believes, wholeheartedly, that he's going to get a date with her. There is not one doubt in his mind and this fact shows in how he speaks with her. Why is being cocky such a turn off? When a man approaches a woman the woman has most of the control. This is because she has to the power (and right) to say yes or no to the man's offer. Essentially, the ball is in her court. Women enjoy this power. We like knowing we have control over who we invite as a participant in our love lives. So, when a cocky man approaches a woman he is, in a way, taking away that power. It's like he is claiming us before we have given an answer, resulting in our objectification and conclusive "hell no."

Now, when a confident man approaches a woman, he allows her to keep her control, her power. However, simultaneously he is, also, letting her know of his own power. The woman has the power to say no, yes, but a confident man,also, has the power to find another woman. Probably, with ease. With confidence, you are showing the woman that you have something to offer. You are showing her that even though you are sure she will respond positively to your approach, you're fine with walking away if she doesn't. And it won't be any skin off your back because that's just how much you believe in yourself.

So, confidence is hot! Cocky not so much. But what about those adorable dorky guys who aren't confident? They still have good intentions, but are shy and nervous when approaching women. Well, this depends on the woman. Some women think it's cute and don't mind that they lack a little confidence. Others see it as a sign they may not be confident in other areas of their life (such as their career) and so, therefore, it is a turn off. It really all just depends! I, personally, think a nervous dorky approach is cute and sweet sometimes, but I,also, want a guy with a little back bone. Well, until next time, readers! Ta-ta!

Your Turn:  Cocky or confident? Which approach do you prefer? Which approach do you use and why? Do you love the nervous nerdy approach as much as me or am I alone over here? I wanna know! Tell me! :)

The Good, The Bad and the Yet to Be Seen

Hello, readers! Can you believe that in a couple weeks it will be 2014? I know. My mind is blown, too. The years go by so fast now. When I was a kid it seemed like it took forever for time to go by. I would wait for the holidays, and all the goodness they brought with them, anxiously. Now, fall comes and goes so quickly. Winter gives us some snow and hot chocolate dreams before moving on, as well. Spring moves through quickly like a light morning rain. Summer goes by like a breeze. It all just happens so damn fast! My little cousins are growing up. They're teenagers now and dealing with the problems I once ad that they never understood. Time truly does fly. And that is why we should make the most of all the time we are given. How do you guys like to use your time? Me? Well, I enjoy movies....

Sunday, December 8, 2013

Friends For A Certain Occasion

Hello, readers! So, I don't know where you all are, but here in Maryland, it's nothing but snow, snow, snow! Oh...and rain which only makes it worst. Well, on days like this there are only a few things to do. Update your blog, search the internet for interesting topics, watch all the awesome UK shows on Hulu and drink green tea. :) How else could I spend the day? Anyway, onto the topic of this blog...

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

How NOT To Approach A Woman Way # 3




Hello, readers! The week is almost over. Thank you! My 12 hour shifts have been killing me. Almost time to relax. :) Any way, this is the third post in my little mini series this week. I'll add more to this series next week. I hope you all have been enjoying my blog and continue to do so. If not, then leave me a comment and let me know why. And even if you have enjoyed my posts, your comments are still welcome. Alright, let's just get straight to the topic of this post, if you all are alright with that.

Monday, December 2, 2013

How NOT To Approach A Woman Way #2

Hello, readers! Here is post number two in my little mini series of how not to approach a woman. I hope you have found my posts both amusing and informative, so far. If you haven't, please feel free to leave a comment, and even if you have, comments are still welcome. :) On to the topic of this post....

Saturday, November 30, 2013

How NOT To Approach A Woman Way #1

Hello, readers! So, I just wanted to write a quick little mini post for some laughs. I was day dreaming earlier today (a common activity for me) and I realized there is an issue that plagues women. Bad pick up techniques! I'm not a dating expert nor am I a love therapist, but I am a female and so, I have been victim to bad pick ups. A pick up is the first impression a woman has of a man. It is a major deciding factor into whether the relationship will have a chance to actually become a relationship. Now, I am only discussing this topic in general terms. Everyone is an individual and so, different things work for them. Please, take this into consideration when reading the post. With all that said let's move on to how not to approach a woman way #1.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

A Post for the Holidays

Hello, readers! Well, it's not Thanksgiving yet, but I'll just say it anyway. Happy Thanksgiving! What am I thankful for? Well, many things, actually, but I am definitely thankful for you all: the readers and followers of this blog.
                                                            Cindi Albright (rustiqueart)
License Notice
Available on Flickr Creative Commons
Available under public license, some rights reserved.
TTM hold no responsibility for the wrongful use of the above photo.

Thanks for listening to my rants, opinions and funny stories. I hope they made you laugh until your sides split and I hope they made you think until your brain hurt (okay, maybe not that much).

During this time of year, we all have a chance to reflect on what we care about in our lives. At many Thanksgiving tables,before eating, family members take turns saying what they are thankful for. Usually, you'll hear things like, "I am thankful for my family, my friends, my job, this food, my home...." etc. However, when you are thankful for something it means you place value on that person, item or action. Though the holidays may not call for it, we place value on more than just friends, family, etc.

Monday, November 25, 2013

My Dreams Go Beyond

My dreams go beyond a bikini ready body,
They stretch past the stars and past the planets,
Oh, my dreams are so big,
Because I dream so high.



Copyright Terms and Conditions
Sweetie187 Photo

There are so many things, so many people who stand in my way,
But since I was little with chubby arms, I've been reaching up,
Up,
Up,
So, I can't stop now.

I see the world and I see myself as part of it,
I see injustice and I want to stop it,
I see pain and I want to heal it,
I see life and I want to live it.

Everyday,
To the fullest.

So, yes, my dreams go beyond a bikini ready body,
Far beyond.

Side Note: We worry about trivial things such as if we're going to be ready for the summer bikini season. If we'll be able to buy the new pair of name brand this and that. We worry about these sort of things when instead we should be concerned with whether we are making a difference in the world, in someone's life, whether we are really doing something significant,whether we are meeting our full potential...

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

When the Road Ends

Hello, Readers! I hope all is well in your lives. Right now things in mine are...fine. I guess that's the only way I can describe. I mean I'm still alive, I have a home, I have food, I have a job and a special someone so, I'm pretty alright. It's just that I'm still desperate. Okay, honesty time...

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

The Fat People Hater

Hello, readers! I'm sorry, what? Oh, yes, that is a picture of me with a super cute polar bear. Two summers ago I was in China at the Coca-Cola factory when this picture was taken.After seeing this picture (and the many more that were taken during the trip) I was not a happy camper. Explanation below. :)

 It was the summer after my freshman year and I had definitely gained the infamous freshmen fifteen. Not to mention that I had carried some extra weight from high school to college. When this picture was taken I was close to (can't believe I'm posting this on the blog) 200 pounds. How did I get there? There are many reasons, which I won't go into, but I can say this: In order to "improve" yourself, you have to first like yourself. You have to first accept yourself as you are. I wish I had known this my freshman year.It would have saved me a lot off feeling shitty time.

Sunday, November 10, 2013

Two Sides to Every Story

Hello, all my readers! Can you believe the winter holidays are almost upon us? First, Turkey Day, then, Christmas and finally, New Years! Bust out the celebrations. I am, definitely, ready to eat, party and just have fun. However, that is not the topic of my blog post today. My last two posts, Standing in No Man's Land, discussed the discrimination mixed children faced (while touching somewhat on the problems of being single race). This time I want to tell the other side of the story. Yes, mixed children can be discriminated against and suffer through identity issues, but (as shown in my story) sometimes that discrimination can stem from jealousy, insecurity and most important another form of discrimination (the mother's preference between Amon and his brother).

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Standing in No Man's Land Pt 2

And Then...


“But I don’t want to be mixed like the mac and cheese and bacon bits,” I shouted. “I want to be black like you and Abdel.”
She clasped my face in her hands and shook her head. “No, you don’t. Look, you’re special, baby. You got the best of both races. That puts you a leg up over everyone else.”
Abdel’s plate crashed to the floor. He stormed from the kitchen into our bedroom and slammed the door behind him. Mom watched him leave. She whispered, “Boy, can’t accept the truth.”
“What’s the truth?” I asked.
“Shh,” she placed a finger over my mouth. “No more talk about race, okay? You’re my little boy and that’s all that matters. You don’t know how special you are. Now go watch a little tv.”
I knew our conversation was over with. Anytime my mother wanted to distract me, she would tell me to go watch tv I sat on the couch and pretended to watch Spongebob, but all my eyes could focus on was the door Abdel has disappeared behind.
“That puts you a leg up over everyone else.”
So, did that mean I was better than my brother? Just because he wasn't mixed. But he was better at so many things than me. He was the best basketball player in the neighborhood and could shoot mid court. He was good at math, video games and everyone at school loved him. He was everything I wasn't  so, how could I be better than him?
It didn’t make sense and I fell asleep frustrated. This wasn't how the world was supposed to work. I thought everyone was equal.

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Standing in No Man's Land

Hello, readers! So, if you didn't know this, I'll inform you. One of my aspirations is to become an author. I love fiction, but always draw inspiration from my personal real life experiences. The story below I wrote my sophomore year in college for a Fiction Writing Class. My professor really pushed me because he thought the story was good( I hope you all think so as well).

Now I'll give some brief background history. These experiences set the foundation for the story's inspiration. First, the majority of my close cousins are mixed (half black-half white). Because of this, I have gotten a glimpse of both sides of the African American community. The two sides I'm discussing are the lighter African American and the darker African Americans. There is this tension between the two groups and my story will focus on an example of this tension. As I wrote this story, I thought of my baby cousin whose image is placed above. It's a fact that he may have to go through similar issues as my character when he enter's school. All I can say is that I hope it makes him stronger in the end.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

A Few Bad Apples

Hello, all! So, one thing that is constantly in the news is government corruption. Every government has a few bad apples, but what about when the bad apples aren't doing anything that is actually illegal? What am I talking about? Loop holes! Oh, yes, those fun little things that weaken laws and allow wrong to become right legally. Well, this is becoming a problem in Washington. A very apparent problem

When elections come along we all want to support the candidate we believe in. We think if we support him/her enough, they'll be elected and the country (city, neighborhood, etc) will be bettered. Sometimes we choose to support them financially. Whats the problem with that,right? Well, what if the money you thought was going to flyers, posters,speeches and the like was really going into vacations,sports teams, "business trips?" How would you feel then? If you're like me you would probably feel like someone has made you their fool. This is becoming a problem in the American government. Sure, it can be said that the majority of government tries to do right "by the people"  (does this term even hold meaning anymore?), but remember that old saying. It only takes a few bad apples to ruin the bunch. I don't know about you all, but I feel a change in government coming. Leaders need people. That's what they tend to forget. Click the link below for more.

http://www.upworthy.com/can-somebody-please-explain-how-this-isnt-illegal?c=ufb1

Monday, October 28, 2013

Lets Stop Laughing & Start Thinking.

Hello, all! Halloween is so close! I don't know if you guys know this, but Halloween is my favorite holiday so, as you can imagine I am super excited. :) However, today's post isn't on such a  happy topic. During this post I really want you all to think about what makes you laugh. What sort of jokes tickle you pink, as the saying goes. Do you enjoy sarcasm? What about the classic three stooges act? Or are you more the type that enjoys a dark sense of humor? If you love to laugh (and who doesn't?) then, you've probably heard a few jokes that make you wonder, "Is that actually okay to say? Should I be laughing at that?" Usually, these joke fall under the categories of racist and sexist. Actually, many comedians, such as Russel Peters, make their living off of such jokes. I'll admit I think RP is pretty funny, but have there been times where I think he's more offensive than funny? Yeah, definitely.

Saturday, October 26, 2013

Does My Name Really Define Me...Or Do I Define It?

Hello, my dear readers! I hope this blog post finds you well. If you've been reading my blog for the past few months you know that my Indian posts have come to an end. I'm back in the States and it's time to move onto new topics. I wasn't exactly sure how I was going to make the transition, but I feel like the topic of this post is a nice one to move on with. So, without further adieu...

I'm a big fan of the paranormal and taboo. I like the idea that behind the little things there lies something bigger, deeper. Though I believe in free will, the idea of having our lives pre-planned for us ("fate") always intrigued me. The idea that our names are somehow destined to be ours and they define our personality, always made me look at my own name. Now I , usually, go by Tasha, but my full first name is Natasha. The origins of this name stem from Russia, however, it can be found in the north of India, as well. The meanings differ among the two countries.

In Russia, Natasha means one who was born on Christmas. In India, Natasha means hope. Well, I am a winter baby, but I was born a bit ahead of Christmas,so the Russian meaning is kind of knocked out. Hope? Whose hope am I? It could be argued that I am the hope of my parents, but, if you ask me, that's too general. If the hope of parents is the case, then, my name could be definitive of almost anyone. It seems like the Indian meaning is kicked out as well. Hm, so far it seems like my name isn't meshing with me so well. But, wait!

Saturday, October 19, 2013

If I Could Write A Letter...

If I could write a letter to India, this is what I would write...

Dear India,
                 you really threw me for a loop there. Everything I learned and experienced was unexpected. Actually, the first lesson I learned in India was to not expect anything or to just expect the unexpected. You are a country full of surprises and challenges that shape the characters of your people so that they know and understand perseverance. I thought I respected this personality trait before, but after experiencing you, India (the heat, mosquitoes, sweaty public buses, etc), I respect it even more.

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

What I Learned in India

Hello, readers. Well, the time is finally here. I, officially, have a week left before I leave for the US. Let me say that again. I, officially, have a week left before I leave for the US. Honestly, it's hard to believe. Wasn't it just a few weeks ago that I was having a germaphobic freak out about the hostel bathroom sanitation? No, now that I think about it, that was actually 17 weeks ago. I can't believe I have been in India for 17 weeks. There was a point when I didn't think I would even be able to make the trip happen (financial issues...). Somehow I worked, saved, scraped, calculated and recalculated to the point that this trip became a reality. I paid for the entire trip myself except for the $750.00 my family gave for spending. Yes, $750 was all the spending money I brought with me on this study abroad journey. The visa, plane ticket, insurance and everything else was out of my pocket and I can say that I feel damn proud of myself. I apologize if I'm coming off as conceited, but I feel proud knowing I worked hard to get this trip and I worked hard to survive it, as well.


Thursday, October 3, 2013

The Withering Flowers of India

Hello, all my dear readers! Sorry about the delay in writing. Not only have I been having internet issues, but I've been just a little lazy. :) However, my lazy spell has come to an end and I am ready to update you all. First, I only have 12 days left in India. It's really hard to believe. Where did those 18 weeks go? Everything that happened between when I first arrived and now was both interesting and challenging.

I haven't shed any tears yet, but I am sure they will come. India has become like a second home to me now. I have developed a routine and am use to the challenges that come with living in a developing country. When I say I am use to them, I am not saying I enjoy them. I'm just saying somethings you learn to move past. When I moved past all the negativity I saw in India the light came shining in. One of the brightest lights was the people. Sure, I've met several people here that I would call the "less desireables", but the friends I have made here have lights so strong that the darkness disappears. I will truly miss them, but enough of my sobbing. On to the topic of this post!

So, we all know about the whole dowry-arranged marriage gig in India, right? This concept is at least one thing that India is known and famous for all around the world. Of course, the dowry system is illegal and encourages female genocide ( I am strongly against it), but old habits are hard to break, as the saying goes. We know all this. We've watched videos on it and read articles,but have we ever considered the prison a marriage can offer.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

He Really Does Work In Mysterious Ways

Hey, readers! So, I know it's been a bit over two weeks since I posted. Sorry about that. There were exams so I pretty much spent all my time prepping for exams, then actually studying for them and finally taking said exams. By the time all that was over, as you can imagine, I was exhausted and wanted to enjoy my ten day vacation (Onam's Vacation as it is called here in Kerala). However, I told my self that I had had enough relaxing and it was time to get back to the blogging. :)

So, let's get on with it. When looking at the title of this post some of you may immediately think, "Who is he?" While others will think, "I know that phrase." As most of you know by now, I'm not Christian, but my family was (is though not in practice) and during my childhood this title was something I heard-often. Due to recent events I can honestly say that I'm an official believer in this title. He (whoever "he" is to you) does work in mysterious ways. Allow me to explain...

Sunday, September 1, 2013

Five Things Not to Do in India

Hello, readers! My time in India is slowly winding down. I can honestly say I no longer consider myself a tourist here. I'm somewhat familiar with the city now and have started traveling on my own. Independence! Going through all of this was definitely a journey. I've learned a few things about India ( I don't know if I will ever fully understand all of it) and I would like to past this knowledge onto you all. Perhaps, you'll decide to travel here one day. :)




Saturday, August 31, 2013

The Indian "Justice" System?

Hello, all my readers. So, if you haven't hear by now the minor convicted in the Delhi rape case is only getting three years in prison. Actually, wait. It's not a prison, but a juvenile detention center. Also, its not three years since the time he already served in the center is going to be counted towards the three years. All I can say is wow. I understand that during the time of the crime he was a minor and so according to the law he has to be trialed as such, but what's that old saying? Rules are meant to be broken. There are always exceptions to the rules. This case is definitely an exception because of its brutality. Despite your age if you decide to go out rape, torture and murder someone shouldn't you be punished? He barely got a slap on the wrist.

This is the justice India serves for its women apparently and it is not enough. Nowhere near enough. Does India not realize how other countries look at them? They frown at them for allowing so much corruption and violence (both sexual and nonsexual) to occur. They look down at India and honestly, after this crap I don't blame other nations for doing so. A young woman  was murdered, tortured and rape. The Indian "justice system" does't care, but you know who does? Her family and  her friends who have loss someone so dear to them. They care and they will have to suffer living in a country that did not serve justice to their daughter. Why even raise a female in India? The risks are just too high.

One particular question does come to mind. What about the Mumbai rape case that is similar to the Delhi rape case? Will those guilty men also walk free?

I have so much more I would like to say, but right now I am just so upset I can't get it all out. Instead, I want to hear from you guys. What do you think? Do you think justice has been served? How should the public react? Should her family pursue a re-trial in a higher court? 

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Yes, I'm An American, But Don't Try and Scam Me

Hello, readers! So, you just started reading this post but you're probably already wondering why there is an image of a jar of peanut butter next to the text. Well, here's the reason...

Right now the exchange rate of the dollar to the rupee sucks. Currently, one US dollar is the equivalent of a little over sixty eight rupees. When I first arrived in June it was around fifty two rupees so in these few months there has been a drastic change.  Of course, this doesn't effect me the way it does my Indian friends since my currency is in dollars and I have to exchange the money to get rupees. Many people here have already said to me, "Well, I guess that's good for you, then." Honestly, in a way it is, but that doesn't mean I enjoy seeing my friends stress over the economy or (and this connects to the title) that I have the right to be cheated.

Monday, August 26, 2013

The Thing About India Is...

Hello, readers! So, the count down has begun. If I didn't miss any days I should have 49 more days left in India. Wow. Where did the time go and why won't it go faster? I want to go back to the states and eat cheese (apparently it's not a big thing here), but I don't want to leave my friends behind or forget the amazing journey I have had here. Think goodness for friends with digital cameras, but the thing about cameras is that they can't capture everything. They can't get every smile, laugh, look of fear, hunger and desperation (they only get a few of those). However, I have 49 more days so I need to make the best of them and I intend to.

So, if you have read this blog before you probably have at least glanced at my bio. It gives a brief summary of my past and what I plan to do with my future. One of my main career goals is to become an investigative journalist with a focus on international issues (foreign correspondent for short). When choosing my study abroad location India seemed like the perfect choice. As bad as this sounds the country is basically brewing with news stories from the corrupt government officials to the high rates of violence against women to the the paid off cricket  players. There was also the issue of gendercide, a trend I hope to have some effect in ending.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Mumbai Gang Rape. When Will It Stop?

Hello, readers. So, today, I'm taking a break from posting about traveling in India and writing about something different. I want to talk about the latest big news gang rape case that happened in Mumbai only a day ago. If you haven't read the news, let me give you a quick summary.

The victim was a photojournalist and was out with a male co worker to take shots of a local mill. She and her co-worker stopped to ask for directions from two of the accused. The men directed them to the mill, disappeared and reappeared with a third men. They then tied the male co worker up, separated the female photojournalist, called two other men over and raped her. Before allowing her to black out, the men threatened her if she told anyone. When she came to the mean were gone. As of right now three of the five men have been found. The other two are believed to be on the run. The victim is stable and recovering. Her co-worker is fine as well.

Now, this case may not be as brutal or violent as the Delhi case, but doesn't it ring a few bells? A young woman traveling with a male companion, both attacked and abused by strangers pretending to offer assistance. Yes, it is very familiar. However, if you ask me, the sad part is that after seeing the results of the Delhi rape case, men still dare to sexually assault a female. Oh, wait...maybe that's the issue. There really were no results of the case. What I mean is that the men were not punished by the India judicial system. Right now all the accused in the case who remain living are stuck in what I like to call bull shit law limbo. When this case first came to the public eye, it was basically agreed by global citizens as a whole (if not demanded) that these men get the death penalty. Yet four out of the five still live (one committed suicide). I understand that one is minor and that complicates things, but ultimately he was the worst of them all and all the men deserve to be punished. If they somehow walk free from this then the Indian judicial system and government will need to be called out on its crap.

There is my mini rant about the Delhi rape case, but my main point in reopening this topic is that history has once again repeated itself. This time it just happened to be in Mumbai. When will the violence against women stop? Honestly, it is a world issue but particularly in India because men feel like they can get away with it which in many cases they have. They need to learn that they can't and that justice will be served to anyone who thinks they have the rights over another person's body (they don't). As horrible as these two cases are and as badly as I wish these two girls were unscathed, they have presented an opportunity for India to really make a change. Now under the international spotlight, the world wants to see how India will respond. Do they really care about their women or will they let the guilty and corrupt run the streets? The businesses? The police? Perhaps, even the government itself? Will they allow the belief that India is no country for women to stand? I pray that the answer is no.

I wonder if the government realizes what they are doing to their women. When my room mate and I heard about this new rape case she (born and bred in India) was momentarily silent. She then turned away and said, "I hate to be an Indian. Why should I be proud?" Granted no country is perfect including the US, but I am proud to be an America. My Indian friends here, on the other hand, are not proud to be Indian. Not proud to have the label of a country that allows women to be mistreated in this way. India is losing its people because of its injustice. I suggest they make a turn around before the people chose complete anarchy. Until that times comes, I hope we all will pray for the victim and for all the victims of the world.

I also would like to hear from you all. What do you think about this case? Do you think it will force India to make a change in terms of crimes against women? Or do you think this case is fleeting? Is India doing its women justice? Has justice been served in Delhi rape case? I'd love to hear from you.

P.S. The photo used was taken by Bob Benson and offered through Flickr Creative Commons. You can find his profile here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bobbenson/



Friday, August 23, 2013

My Day With The Wild Man

Hello, all! So, it's been about two weeks since my last update and I felt like I needed to let you guys know what's been going on. First, I only have six weeks and four days left until I return to the states. How do I feel? Excited, happy, anxious, scared and sad. The positive feelings  are there obviously because I can't wait to return to my home, a place that is the most familiar to me. However, I am sad as well because in a strange way, despite all the mosquitoes, parasites and leering men, India had become my second home. No one ever wants to leave their home right? For me it isn't so much about a physical place as it is about the feelings I have for a place. I have really good feelings about India and that is why I both pray for and dread returning to the states. Enough about me and my gushy feelings though. On to the topic of this post...

Two weeks ago I got the chance to visit an Indian village. The trip was a amazing! I rode a elephant and went trucking through an Indian forest where I saw wild monkeys swinging in the trees. It was like I was on an Indian safari. However, my safari would not have been a true adventure without the wild man who (if you couldn't tell) is the main character of this post.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

India and America: What's the Difference?

Hey, guys! So, guess what? I only have 9 weeks left in India. Can you believe it? The thought feels me with joy and sadness. Joy because I get to return home and see all my loved ones, sadness because in 9 weeks time I will have to leave behind all my loved ones here. :( I guess that's life though. Coming and going, gaining and losing. What is a girl to do? Anyway, I looked at my post and my youtube video (http://youtu.be/XPtYm2xrF48) and I noticed that I have been doing a lot of talking about my experiences in India, but I have yet to just lay out some plain facts about this culture vs. American culture. I'll be posting a video on this as well. I just want you guys to remember that my experience in India could be totally different from someone else's experience. I'm in South India whose culture is very different than North India. In fact it could be argued that each state has its own unique culture and so just remember that this list is only applicable to the state I am in, Kerala. Okay....

1) African vs. American
 So, I actually mentioned this in a blot post before, but I think it deserves to be mentioned again. If you are an African American traveling to India (or a person of African descent from any country) everyone will automatically assume that you are African. They won't ask, "Where are you from?" Instead they will tell you that you are from Africa. In their minds if your are white your American and if your black your African. Apparently (according to some people I have met here) black people don't live in America, only white people. I guess the Atlantic Slave Trade and Obama never happened, but whatever.

2)Kinky Curly Hair
To put it simply, to anyone of African descent, if you come to India and your hair is natural, people are going to eye it like its the last steak at dinner. Some will even ask to touch it. This didn't bother me so much, but I did get tired of trying to explain my hair after a while. I have found that a lot of people here actually like it, but there are a few stereotypes about black hair that you may encounter. Examples, below:
                            -"Does it grow? It can't grow right?" Yes, African hair grows. Why wouldn't it?
                            - "You can't comb it." Yes, yes, I can.
                            -"Water makes it shrivel up." Water causes shrinkage, our hair doesn't die!

3) The Exotic Female
If you are a foreign female traveling in India expect to get hit on a lot. The same way we look at India as this exotic fascinating place is the same way the men here look at foreign females. Also, there area lot of stereotypes about females from the West. They think we all drink, smoke, do drugs and sleep with any and everyone. Most of the men that hit on you will do so thinking that you will let them do the do just because they flashed you a friendly smile. Ugh!

4) Leering vs. Staring
There is a big difference between checking someone out and looking at them like you're ready to make a move. In the States I have seen guys checking me or my friends out. Sometimes they may stare for a little too long and it will become awkward. Other times they'll do a quick glance and move on. Here in India, men will do neither of those. No, they prefer to leer which means stare at you like they have malicious intentions. Obviously, in a place like India where rates of violence against women break the roof, this is too common a reality. In this situation the best thing to do is just stare them down to let them kn ow you are not scared. If you look away meekly, they may take it as a sign that you are weak and label you as easy prey. Stand your ground, ladies and always travel with a buddy( for India a male friend would be best).

5)Schooling
You know how professors in the US respect you as an adult? Well, don't expect that in India. In their eyes I am still a child and so they treat me as such which is why students stay in the same class room every day while professors switch. Don't want us getting too excited walking down the hall. Also, in terms of work load, from my experience I get a much heavier load at my college in the US. Here there are a few assignments every now and again. Here they also live in hostels instead of dorms.

6)Pronunciation
Botany is pronounced like" boatany." Why is pronounced "v-why." Adult is pronounced "add-delt."

7)Farewells
In the US we say goodbye. Here they say ta-ta. A little British influence, I suppose.

So, those are just a few quirky thins about India. Hope you all enjoyed. As always don't hesitate to leave a comment, question or suggestion. Until next time, ta-ta!
                   


Saturday, August 3, 2013

Bathing With Worms: My Showering Experience in India

I grab my red bucket, red cup, soap and wash cloth. I step into my shower shoes and prepare to enter the battle ground. Stepping into the light blue tiled bathroom, I am immediately surrounded. All around me there are gnats, spiders, ants and other creepy crawlies that I can't identify (to the other residents these insects go unnoticed). However, this is not the worst part. No, the worst part comes when I have to actually pour the water on my body knowing that it is a breeding ground for worms that would love to us me as a host. There are filters on the faucet but there have been times when smaller worms manage to slip through. The water is cold but there are already chills running down my spine as I prepare to rinse myself off. I am terrified.

I'm sure I have told you all this before, but I have a big fear of parasites. The thought of having something squirming inside me makes me feel violated to the fullest extent. Even in the States this paranoia rests in my mind, but since coming to India, it's not paranoia so much. It has become a real possibility. I know many of you are probably wondering why I chose (of all places) India to study abroad if I have a fear of parasites? Well, for some reason I thought that the college would be more developed in water sanitation. Then, I realized that in India students live in hostels.

Now, don't get me wrong. We have clean water to drink and everything, but our bathing water is not clean. In front of the hostel is a big well ( that's the best way to describe it. Check it out on my youtube video) that collects rain water and is left open for any and everything to crawl in. While washing my clothes I have seen the parasites squirming on the stone slab we use to scrub. Have I seen them climb into the well? No, but I have seen the filters with tape worms in them that were too big to pass through. I also ( and this was scary) caught a small red worm on my leg. I was disgusted, but I am proud to say that I didn't freak out. Not outwardly at least.

I really hope no one takes offense to this or takes this the wrong way. I have bee having a great time in India. It was hard at first, especially for a clean freak like me but after getting past the dirty water, pollution, dead rats in the street and all the other accessories, India houses a unique culture that stands on it own. However, if you decide to travel here, the reality is most of you will have to deal with what I am currently dealing with unless you stay at a nice hotel. So, prep yourself, but also expect to have many of your beliefs and views changed. That's something you can never be prepared for, I guess. Let me give you an example...

My family is Christian, though they don't really practice. I was raised believing in Jesus and heard the words "God fearing" fall from the mouths of my grandparents several times. As a kid I took this to heart. I was terrified of going to hell or having demons possess me so I tried my hardest to be "God fearing." Then, I got older and started developing my own opinions. I realized I didn't want to fear God. Leaders who ruled with fear did not gain any loyalty from their subjects ( look at British history). When someone stepped up as a leader and was respected by his/her public then they would  also have the loyalty of said public. In my mind God was the latter. I wanted to respect him, not fear him, because only through respect could I develop a true loyalty to him. So, I sat out on that path, but along the way I met a lot of "Christians" who gave the religion a bad name.  They would only worship Jesus so that they wouldn't go to hell and would frequently cast "brimstone and hell fire" at different religions. I couldn't agree that religion included hate so I decided to stray away from Christianity and explore other religions.

What I wanted out of a religion was to essentially feel God. Like really feel him/her moving through me and feel his/her presence all around me, even if it only happened once. I thought I came close to this a few times, but never really got it. So, I continued to explore. When I came to India people would constantly ask about my religious identification (its like asking about the weather here). I found myself stumped  by the question and would just answer that I didn't have a religion. No one understood that and so they would assume I was aethiest which I am not. I would correct them, but they then would ask me for my religion? I still couldn't answer. I began to question my religious beliefs again.

Just so you know the city I'm staying in has three main religions: Christianity, Islam and Hinduism and since coming to India I have had experiences with people from each. I  noticed two things. First, no one tried to convert anyone else. It was just accepted that different people have different beliefs. This goes for the young and the old. No one was knocking on doors on Saturday mornings if you know which religion I am referring to. Second,  nearly everyone I met has an unyielding faith in their God(s). When they pray it is as if they have gone into a religious trance. I was amazed at seeing this and wanted to have the same devotion, but first I had to figure out what I believed in.

I tried to pick a religion and the more I tried, the more I wondered why I had to pick? Wasn't it enough that I believed? I could pray to God without giving him an identity like Jesus, Buddha, Allah because in a way, aren't they all the same? Now, no one slap me for that last comment, but if you think about it what I said is true. They are all these mysterious spirits that rule over us. If we do good we get good back. If we do bad life punches us in the stomach. That's the way it works for every religion. So, if I just try to be a good person, won't God love me despite my religious identity? Because it isn't so much about being the most devout as it is about being the best person you can be to others.

So, I didn't chose a religion. Instead I chose to simply believe in God and try to do the right thing on a  daily basis (my basic beliefs). When I pray, I pray to God without giving him a specific name. India may have blown my germ radar off the charts, but it has also provided me with life lessons that I hope to share. I've just shared one with you all.

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Fort Kochi&Chinese Fishing Nets



Hey, guys! So, this is the latest video I posted on my youtube channel. I believe I spoke about the channel in a previous post but due to nearly all my technology giving up since coming to India. This video was actually taken with my phone camera so it is not the best quality, but I didn't want to waste good footage and memory so here it is! Enjoy and don't hesitate to comment.

Saturday, July 13, 2013

Silk Smitha & Marilyn Monroe: Two Women, Two Cultures, Two Times, Same Life.

Hey, guys! So, I believe I have said this before on the blog, but through differences people realize their similarities. I think a professor my freshman year in college first said this to me and at the time I really did not know what he meant. Actually, I thought the statement made no sense at all. It was similar to Buddha quotes that leave you mystified but still confused. However, after living in a foreign country for close to two months, I finally get it. At first, I only saw the differences between India and the US. The difference in food, dress, body language, etc, but now that that cloud has passed and my vision is a bit more clear I can see more. I still see the differences but every time I think, "We don't do that in America..." I immediately think, "But we do do that!" (I know "do do" hahaha ) The food here may be different but like in every country food is the center of every gathering. Students hate homework just as much in India as they do in the states. Professors and parents lectures students and we pretend to listen.  Everyone complains about the economy just like in the states and of course women are the prime targets for crime (particularly sexual assault in India). This last similarity (which sadly India is known for) drew me to learn about Silk Smitha.

The Indian magazine titled "The Week" had wrote an article about what it takes for a Hindi film to be a success. There is one necessary factor to guarantee a Hindi movie will bring in money: the movie must have a good rape scene. When I read this I was shocked. A rape scene determines the success of a movie? What? My shock eventually led to disgust and then anger. I later spoke to my friends about this topic who (with what I would call shame and embarrassment) admitted that rape scenes are the money maker in any Hindi film. They then told me about Silk Smitha, an Indian actress who was ahead of her time that became type-casted into the role of a sex symbol. She was not afraid of her body nor was she afraid to proudly display its beauty. She was bold and demanded the same respect as male actors, but because of her bold personality and attractiveness it was believed she could only play one role. When Silk Smitha would try to break from her type caste she was immediately put back in her place by the industry. They only wanted to hire her for one type of role.

Silk Smitha came from a humble back ground born in a poor village. However, she was always attractive and thanks to her looks her family had her married early. However, she received abusive treatment under her husband's family and so she ran away to stay with an aunt. This was of course a disappointment to her family. According to my friend, Silk Smitha actually used acting ti help her family financially. The sad thing is that when both she and her career started to fall apart due to several factors (such as the prison of typecaste) they denied her. Apparently, they were ashamed of her having played the sexual roles she played despite the fact that it filled their pockets. Silk Smitha was found dead in her Chennai apartment on September 23, 1996 from poisoning. Her death is believed to have been a suicide.

Marilyn Monroe's beginning was not glamorous. She never knew who her real father was and her mother was mentally unfit to raise her. Through out her life she was moved from foster home to foster home constantly having to bear the burden of sexual advances by the men she was living with. She had no family and there was an attempt to abandon her by one of her foster families. Eventually, she became a model which led into her acting career, but in order to advance she had to go through some plastic surgery and had to lighten her hair, advised by the industry. Soon her career blew up. She was young, attractive and teasingly scandalous. The people loved her, but the industry really loved her in the role  of "sexy dumb blonde." A role, in my personal opinion, she grew to hate. Marilyn would try to break from her prison, as well, but found it difficult. As her personal life declined so did her performance in movies and her career. Marilyn Monroe was found dead on August 5th, 1962 in her Brentwood, LA apartment from a drug overdose. Her death was labeled a suicide.

These are just summaries of the two women's lives and I would recommend you all to do some research for more details. However, even looking at these brief summaries the similarities are obvious. They lived in different time periods, came from different cultures but their lives had the same plot as if written by the same author. I personally would have liked the two to meet. I can't say what would happen, but I believe they would talk both about the glamours of "Hollywood" and the loneliness/abandonment they felt. Their success brought them a lot, but also took much away from them, including their lives.

Perhaps, you're having a  hard time connecting Silk Smitha to sexual assault like I stated above. So, as far as documentation goes, Silk Smitha was not a crime of sexual assault. Not directly at least, but the industry pressure placed on her could be looked at as a form of sexual assault. That's just my opinion, but of course you all are entitled to your own. :) If anyone has anything they would like to add or a comment/ correcton they would like to make, don't hesitate. The similarities between these two women honestly amazes me. It's actually like they were the same person!

Now I'm not saying I believe in reincarnation (which is impossible in this case since Silk Smitha was born two years before Marilyn Monroe died), but some times I have to wonder if souls get a chance to do it all over again. Playing out the same events, subconsciously hoping that this time they'll get it right. The idea mesmerizes me, but I'll have to go on dreaming another time. Until the next post! :)



Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Behind the Laughs: Indian Media Tells It All

Hey, everyone! So, first let me update you on the whole youtube thing. I'm sure I mentioned it in my last blog. Basically, I don't know when I will be able to make another video. Since coming to India my electronics have gradually failed me and now both my cameras are down. "We have the technology." No, we don't. I'll try to figure a way around this but I don't know if I'll be able to keep the channel running sadly. :( However, I have several juicy issues that I would like to talk about in this post so get ready!

First, let go directly to the title. One thing I noticed about India was all the movie advertisements plastered on buildings, walls, lamp poles, etc. Several move advertisements depicted a man with his hand raised to a female. Sometimes there would be a child in between the two adults. When I questioned my friend about this she, to my surprise, laughed. "It's a comedy," she said. "Very funny." However, to me there is nothing funny about a man beating a woman. The fact is media is a part of every culture and a reflection of said culture. It's common knowledge that women in India are not on the same level as their men. So, could this movie be an example of this knowledge? Also, by showing such acts in a movie, could Indian media be, perhaps unknowingly, further imprisoning women in their society to be victims? Could young men watch this movie and think, "This is how I should treat women."? My answer to these questions is a strong yes, but before I can be a judge, I have to first look at my own culture. The wheels in my mind began to turn...

I thought about movies I had seen in the past and movies that were being advertised now in the US. Honestly, I couldn't think of many movies where a woman's pain or possibility of pain was a comedy. However, one movie series did come to mind. Ever heard of Tyler Perry? I'm sure you have. His movies feature aspects of the stereotypical African American lifestyle that bring laughter ( and sometimes tears) . Now in all his movies that I have seen a woman getting beat on is never portrayed as funny. Actually, many times at the end of the movie, this woman comes back stronger than ever. The reason his movie came to mind was because there is still domestic/family violence that is portrayed in a comedic fashion. Countless times the main character, Madea", is ready to break her foot off in someone's ass (remember she is a master of the martial art " whoop that ass"). She doesn't discriminate in choosing her victims; from her own brother to orphan children to married men who have done wrong. However, why did I consider this funny and the Indian advertisement not so much? Could it be simply because India has a bad reputation for the treatment of women and so I am assuming that their movies must encourage this treatment? (to an extent probably yes)

As I thought about this, what I kept telling myself was that there was a difference. Typler Perry was trying to be funny. It's a joke when I tell my family members I'm going to beat their tails and they say the same back to me. I knew this because it is what I am accustomed and I have actually seen the Tyler Perry movies. I haven't seen the India movies so, therefore, can I be so quick to judge? Perhaps, if I watched the movie I would see that the man was only joking with woman. That it was all playful fun and not some sadistic (is that too strong a word?) film. I didn't even give the film a chance. I judged it by its' cover and not by its content. That was wrong of me. However, the role of women in India is still significantly different than in America. Perhaps, I was wrong about this movie, but in terms of the reality of women in this society, I am confident in my belief.

Wow, this post is getting longer than u thought, On to the next topic! I believe I mentioned this in a previous post. Here, like in China, the ideal of beauty is light skin. You would like to think that educated people wouldn't fall pray to this ignorant belief but yes, even my best friend( who initially tried to deny this part of her culture) admitted to me that she doesn't want to get any darker. The thing is she's already dark, darker than me even( not that I put value on something so shallow). As I walk around India I see women holding umbrellas trying to escape the sun rays, all in the hope that their skin will lighten. They even sell the skin lightner here like they do in China. This saddens me. It seems like every country ( especially Asian countries) has this obsession with light skin, people with darker skin being seen as less and unattractive. With such mentality how does a black woman or man ever find a date? I don't know the answer to that question. My best guess would be that some people can look beyond society's idea of beauty. Thank goodness for those people.

My best friend is smart, beautiful, funny, honest caring and yet just because she's not as "light as milk" some how she isn't at the top with other girls who are lighter than her. I don't get it. I really don't. I remember a few months ago I was doing research on this topic. Like a fool I thought, "Perhaps, in Africa, the mind set will be different. Most people there have brown or darker skin, surely they have not fallen subject to this idiotic sign of beauty." Why am I always so hopeful? Skin lightening cream is sold in Africa as well. There too people want to be light skin. So, much for the Motherland, huh?

 If you ask me I blame it on European colonization. Societies were built where the light skin people (Europeans) were on top and everyone else (the colored people) were in the gutter. What hurt even worst was when I tried to explain this to my best friend. To soothe her insecurities she simply said, "You know Indian women are much more attractive than American women. The only thing American women have is light skin and nothing else. And the Chinese are not attractive Here in India we don't like the facial structure." She forgot the fact that I am an American woman. Here people associate America with only white people. She also was blatantly racist. China and India have had issues for years which is the only reason I could think for her to make such a comment. When will people realize that putting down another will not make you feel better and that beauty transcends beyond things such as skin and race. I hope this revelation comes soon but I am a hopeful fool.

Sorry if it was too long guys! Please don't hesitate to comment or give feedback. If there are any grammatical errors please,  I apologize in advance. Until next time!

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Indian Courtesy

Hey, guys! I hope you all are well. Me? Well, I'm actually very proud of myself. I think I am finally settling into the life of an Indian college student. My body is use to the time change, my stomach is use to the food and I'm use to the showering areas ( though I will admit I still miss my hot water). I believe that when I return to the States both me and my immune system will be much stronger from this journey. I'm really learning to live in another culture with people who are extremely different from myself and the people I am use to living with. One thing I have noticed is that people always want to know why I would ever come to India. The idea of an American leaving her comfy life to spend several months in a developing country both confuses and amazes them. From these questions I get a feeling that to an extent people here glorify the US. I just simply tell them that I love America and am proud to be a citizen of the country, but that every country has its pros and cons including America. I am not sure if they were sure of the point I was trying to get across, but at east I tried!
Most people I have met are extremely polite and respectful. They understand that I don't know their language and so we mostly communicate through body language. I try to be just as respectful so that I create a good impression of my school and the US. (Fun fact: people love Obama here and they always compare him to Bush.) However, there are a few incidents where I've seen the uglier side of India. For example, a week ago, I was walking from school to my hostel when a man decided he really had to pee. So, he just turned to the side, whipped it out and drained the lizard. Don't get me wrong, people in my city do this, too, but it was broad daylight and I was right there! I closed my eyes, walked around him and tried to erase the image from my mind ( all efforts have failed). There is  also the issue with drivers. When walking around the city, the drivers here expect me to jump into water puddles( its rainy season) just so they can have space in the street. They beep their horns and I just look at them. I'm sorry, but where I come from pedestrians have the right of way and so I don't move. Call me a snob if you wish, but I am not a fan of the traffic here I have to admit.
I get along pretty well with most of the other college students though I know some of them only want to be my friend because I am the American (lame). There are a few people who purposely don' t interact with me because they want to be so cool that they don't even talk to the American (also lame). These people I just ignore. Overall, I would say most people here are courteous, but it is a city so (let's be honest) manners can only go so far. I may get some special treatment because I am a foreigner and female. I know in the airport several Indian families guided me on my way to Cochin because they knew I was traveling alone. I don't think they believed this was appropriate, but I didn't mind because it gave me some company during my journey. I was an orphan who had temporarily been adopted. :)
Actually, a friend and I had an interesting conversation the other day. I asked her if she planned to do an arranged marriage or a love marriage. She said an arranged marriage, but she admitted to me that the idea of getting married and having kids scared her. Now, it's not like she is a child bride or something. She probably won't get married until 23-25. Similar to when a lot of Americans get married. She asked me about my relationship and if I had ever thought of marriage or family life. I admitted to her that I had thought of both, but just like her the idea terrified me. I found this interesting. She was doing an arranged marriage and I planned for a love marriage, but we were both terrified despite these differences. If you ask me this is a perfect example of finding similarities through our differences. I can't imagine having an arranged marriage nor can she imagine having a love marriage, but beyond that, at our center, we still see ourselves as young girls, much too young for marriage. We have hopes, dreams and goals that we want to accomplish before we are tied down by the bonds of marriage. It makes me happy to know that people aren't so different after all.
Actually, this weekend this friend and I will be traveling to the slums of India so I can interview two people living there. First,crack at journalism in India! I am so excited. This is one of the things I dreamed of doing in India. I have started a youtube channel and will be posting videos on there so I encourage you all to watch. Please and thank you! Below is the link and I'll be writing to you all later! Until then! :)

http://youtu.be/XPtYm2xrF48

Saturday, June 15, 2013

The Steps of Studying Abroad

Hey, guys! Man, I have been in India for only two weeks and the only thing I can say is that I chose the right country. I wanted a culture shock that would take me out of my comfort zone and reality in my face and that is exactly what I got with India! This country is so different than America. Actually, when compared to many of the other Asian countries it is quite different as well. When most people think of Asia they think of China, Japan and maybe Burma. Before planning to study here I honestly didn't even consider India part of Asia. I know that looking at the geography it is but geography was never my favorite subject. Not to mention that despite the geography India stands separate from many of the other countries in this continent. For example, in many Asian countries, chopsticks are used to eat. In India it is all about the hands! Buddhism originated in India but there are essentially little to no Buddhists here and I'm not just referring to the part of India I am studying. This goes for the whole of India. India just stands as its own country. Unique and different. Even though they were colonized by the British, I still feel like this colonization had only some effect on their culture and that India still held onto its own traditions. Anyway,onto the title...
So, in just two weeks of being in India I have gone from ecstatic to depressed to indifferent to ecstatic again and then back to depressed. Honestly, my emotions here are crazy. I am so excited to be here, but at the same time I miss my home, family and friends very much. I am constantly struggling between these two feelings, being tugged by all the amazing things I am seeing in front of me and all the fond memories I have of home. However, now, I believe I am finally starting to adjust to my new home for the next four months. Here are the stages I believe anyone who is traveling to another country and will be residing in  said country for an extended period of time goes through:
1)excitement
2) shock at the different culture
3) inability to adjust
4) home sickness
5)sadness or depression
6) acceptance
7) adjustment
8) happiness
I pretty much went through all these stages in just two weeks (I'm even getting use to the mosquito filled shower). I know I sound bipolar, but when India hit me it hit me hard. No holding back! However, the more time I spend here the easier it is getting for me. The school officials are also being extremely helpful in trying to make me comfortable and they are also being very understanding about my culture shock.
Since I've been in India, I've picked up some Indian books (which are always a reflection of culture) and have found an author in particular who I enjoy. Chetan Bhagad is an Indian author but writes in english. His books ahve allowed me to learn much about Indian culture without traveling too far from school. One thing I find interesting is the division ( and some would even go so far as to say racism) between North Indians and South Indians. Though they are all India there is still this line that won't be crossed, particularly when it comes to marriage (in India people don't date really). Mr. Bhagad's book "Two States" focuses on such an issue. 
Though the part of India I am in is different, in many states people still worry about castes (which there are so many different kinds). In some places it is unheard of for someone of a low caste to marry a high caste or for someone from one state to marry someone from another state. In the cast of Mr. Bhagad, his wife was a Tamilian (South India) and he was a Punjabi (North India). If you want to know how hard their struggle was I highly recommend this book though I am not trying to use my blog as some sort of promoter site.
Also, like the fool I am I thought there wouldn't be many language barriers in India since people here speak English. The issue is they also speak 27 more languages and English is usually a last resort. Therefore, many people are not well versed in english. There is a huge language barrier! However, for any country I do recommend learning at least a little of the native language. Not only is it easier to make friends but the native people will appreciate your effort.
Anyway, my laptop is on the verge of death and there aren't outlets in the room so I feel I must say goodbye for now, but I will be updating next week with more details about some of the crazy experiences I have had in India so far. Thanks!

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

India So Far

Hey, everyone! So, first rule of India: INternet is hard to come by. I had expectede to update you all one day after landing, but when I found out the hostel (yes, a hostel, not a dorm) I'm staying in has no internet access, I knew my plans had changed. Honestly, the first two days I found hard. The school, specifically the living arrangements, we're not what I expected. I knew I would be living with 6-7 other girls. That's fine and dandy. I actually like my room mates. I knew the living faciilities would not be located on the campus but near it. That's fine, as well. What I was prepared for was the showering facilities. Okay, here is my rant. Criticize me as a uppity American if you will.




No hot water. At best the water is luke warm. No shower. Okay, so the stalls have a shower head but there is no water pressure so there really is no point in usiing the shower. Instead we all use buckets and cups to rinse our selves off. Not to mention that the same stall where the "shower" is located is the same stall where the toilet is located. Oh, I forgot to mention that in India toilet paper is not a necessity. To clean your bottom there is a little hose attached to the side of the toilet that you squirt yourself with. I found this out when I was on my way to India. That was a slap in the face pretty much, but you know what? Honestly, I think I could get past all of this, everything, if the showers were just cleaner! Clean bathrooms are one of my pet peeves. If a bathroom is clean who gives a crap about cold water and no water pressure. At least you are bathing in a sanitary area where mosquitoes don't fly in and try to give you malaria. Despite all of this, I don't want to dwell on the negative. I have few more things I could complain about, but studying abroad is suppose to be a good experience and I plan to make it one.



I don't think you have expereinced true culture shock until you have traveled from America to India. The two countries stand on opposite ends of the spectrum with a srtong disconnect between them. I have found during my time here many Indians aren't as aware of America (the culture that is ) as I had thought. I mean, I am not an expert in Indian culture, but I had some basic foundation to guide me and even did more research into topics I was familar with before coming here. It seems to me that a lot of the students here rely on stereotypes to guide them. First, everyone just assumed that I didn't want to try Indian food and that I wnated to binge on burgers and fries. Several people repeatedly said , "She will like fries and burgers." It took many explnations to get people to understand that (1) I came to India to experience India menaing the food as well and (2) Americans eat more than burgers and fries! I tried several times unsucessfully to explain to some of the students that America is made up of immigrants and so I eat a variety of food. Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, African American, Greek, etc. I'm not satying I don't love burgers and fries, but if that was all I ate I would be dead. This disconnection with America saddens me because it creates another cultural barrier. I hope some of the studnets from the school will visit the states so they can truly understand what America is and is not! Still, many of them are willing to listen and learn just as I am willling to learn about India from them. I feel like I am learning more every day.



The thing I like most about India, so far, is the difference in acceptable practices between people opf the same gender. Okay, get ready for mind bender here. In India mean hold hands and wrap their arms around each other's shoulders. Yeah, and the biggest thing is that it doesn't make them gay! Straight men are doing this, not gay men (even though gay marriage is legal in India. That was surprising, as well). It's nice to see guys so relaxed around each other and not having to worry about being Mr. Macho. Girls, hold hands too, but in the states, I think if guys do it, there are more issues.



Currently, it is the rainy season in the part of India I am staying. All the rain is awesome. The flowers are blooming and everything seems a live. With two of my friends, the other, we all got cauhgt in the rain, running through Indian traffic which is crazy ( worst than China). Traffic here seems like there are no rules, but the little adventure in the rain was awesome so I didn't mind. I probbaly wouldn't be saying that if I got hit, but whatever.



Just like in China, people stare at me all the time. God, do I miss just being another blak girl walking through the halls, but everyone is very helpful. Even in the air port, faimilies would temporarily adopt me and make sure I got ot my gate on time. It was obvious that I was a little lost and confused. I mean it was my first time flying solo so what can you expect? I managed, though. Anyway, I have to go. School is about over annd right now only here can I get internet access. Hopefully, that will chnage today , but only the future will be able to tell me. Thanks and talk to you later.







P.S. I did not check this for typos or grammar, so allow me to apologize in advance.